Skip to content

2014-03-24 Dance in the rain

2014/03/24

Today’s sample was made for a swap with the theme “Dance.” After perusing my collection I found only one stamp and one sentiment that represented the theme. Not to be left behind; I used what I had and made my supplies stretch to fit the project.

The central image is stamped on a book page that was I think made on a jelly plate. I’m not sure as my friend Maggi let me pick through some of her samples and this is the one that I selected for this project. I stamped the Magenta image on the book paper and then cut out and tiered it up a bit.

2014-03-24 (3)

The sentiment is by TAC (The Angel Company) and again stamped on a scrap of the book paper. I was running out of this paper quick as it was a one of a kind. To make it stretch to fit the project I began by tearing the left overs and gluing them near the edge of the purple mat. I only covered the outer edge leaving the interior blank as it would be covered. I also made sure to space the torn pieces in from the edge a bit so it looked like another mat. I embossed the base mat using the tiny mosaic (squares) embossing folder by Cuttlebug. Not only did it make the torn pieces look seamless but it also ripped up some of the paint from the book page. At this point I wasn’t giving up so I took some ink pads and did a direct to paper (DTP) and covered it up. I had to soak my embossing folder to get all of the paint off from the inside of it. I’m happy to say it washed off with a good bit of coaxing.

2014-03-24 (2)

The book page has a kind of glimmer and I added some prisma glitter to highlight the flames in the campfire.

2014-03-24 (4)

And one last look before you go on your way

2014-03-24 (1)

It just goes to show that with a little ingenuity you CAN come up with an idea to match a specific theme. This particular design is not my style, but it was playing and being able to come up with something.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

