Skip to content

2014-03-23 Masking Fluid & Three Ferns by Hero Arts

2014/03/23

I am dreaming of spring time and with St. Patrick’s Day last week I was thinking of green. I had a punched border left over from the March Shoebox craft night so I began with that using Hero Arts Three Ferns and a sentiment from TAC (The Angel Company)

2014-03-16 (1)

I know the color looks yellow-green in this photo, and it is. But probably not this yellow-green. I stamped the sentiment first using clear embossing. Next I added masking fluid splatter and once that was dry I started stamping. I added layers of colors starting with yellow and going through 3 different shades of green. Between each color change I added some more masking fluid splatter and waited for it to dry. When the piece was finished, I ironed the clear embossing powder off so it has the same color (less the high gloss shine from the embossing powder) as the rest of the piece.

2014-03-16 (2)

And one last angle before you head out for the rest of your day.

2014-03-16 (3)

I do like the different shades of masked dots…it kind of looks like a summer’s night with fire fly’s flitting around. Please hurry spring!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. grjsskkaa permalink
    2014/03/23 12:36 pm

    What is masking fluid? Where can you buy it?

    • 2014/03/23 1:37 pm

      Masking fluid is found in the painting section of Michaels and Joann’s. In Walmart it is next to the craft paint and paint brushes. Cheapest at Walmart, I think I paid about $8.

      Here is the product and a description for you…

      Masking fluid

Leave a Reply

