Skip to content

2014-03-14 Serendipity background and finished card

2014/03/14

For today’s sample I’m sharing a background that I created as a challenge called the Serendipity Background. First let me show you the finished card and then I will explain how I got there.

2014-03-12 (2)

The Serendipity Background utilizes old scraps of designer scrapbook papers (also called DSP for short). I have lots of scraps that remain when I line envelopes, so I picked 3 leftover pieces and started tearing them up and gluing them down on an 8.5″x11″ piece of card stock. You can see I chose blues and greens.

2014-03-12

I did not do very much to the card other than add a flower and a small border. I have a vase of assorted silk flowers in my craft room so all I did was walk over and pluck a bloom off and attach it to my card.

2014-03-12 (3)

I created the banner using the new Stampin Up banner punch. For the border I took blue card stock, added 18kt gold leafing pen and then attached the tiny pennants. I covered the border with a piece of green organdy ribbon to soften it.

2014-03-12 (5)

In addition to the border and flower I added to the background by embossing it with a Stampin’ Up embossing folder and then rubbing the raised images with blue distress ink and a blending tool.

I have 3/4ths of a sheet left of the background design, so I will work this weekend on using it up. So stop back, say hi and take a gander and my torn background designs.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 2014/03/14 10:12 am

    The card is very pretty! I’ve never seen that done before but it really gives a very interesting background. Great idea!

  2. chrissy bornfleth permalink
    2014/03/14 1:09 pm

    This is beautiful!!! Looks like you sprayed with your famous homemade ‘stuff’.

    • 2014/03/14 5:10 pm

      Yup! I sure did. It gives it a little glimmer and also helped glue loose edges down.

  3. ribbons3 permalink
    2014/03/19 5:11 pm

    Love this card !! In fact very interesting !!

Leave a Reply

