Skip to content

2014-03-04…watercolor tulips @ March Shoebox Meeting; Project #1

2014/03/04

Last evening I enjoyed getting together with my Stampin’ Buddies at the March Shoebox meeting. I’d like to share with you the project that I brought for the ladies to make.

2014-03-03 (1)

Inspiration came from browsing through the new Stampin’ Up (SU) mini catalog. I really liked the laser cut ready made card as shown in a kit you could purchase. Since funds are non-existent I decided to pull out supplies I had on hand and see what I could do.

I pulled out a Martha Stewart punch around the page punch set (corner and border punches) and made my faux laser cut background.

The next part of the inspiration came from another stampin’ buddy, Kellyrae at Sassy Rubber Artists. She posted a really lovely watercolor of stamped tulips last week and with that I brought out my SU Tulip set. I bought this last fall at a rummage sale for $1 and have never used it.

I sprayed watercolor paper with water and then stamped. Anytime the paper started to dry off, I gave it another spritz.

2014-03-03 (3)

I added splatter with the card was still a bit wet, so it has a more diffused look. I mounted the watercolor piece onto a piece of fun foam and then mounted to the faux laser cut and finally onto the card base.

2014-03-03 (2)

It may not look exactly like the laser cuts I admired, but it is the best I can do.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Terri permalink
    2014/03/04 12:39 pm

    What a beautiful card!

  2. Mary permalink
    2014/03/04 8:54 pm

    Bonnie it is lovely

  3. Adair permalink
    2014/03/12 8:17 pm

    This is beautiful, Bonnie!

Trackbacks

  1. 2014-03-23 Masking Fluid & Three Ferns by Hero Arts | The Craftiblog

Leave a Reply

