Skip to content

2014-02-21 Sketch Challenge OWH#39

2014/02/21

In one of the groups that I play in we were given this sketch…OWH#39 was the original sketch.
Sketch-39

I checked around; Pinterest, Google and then on the Operation Write Home website. I have to be honest, I didn’t care for the few samples I saw. I realize the samples I saw were kept flat for mailing to service members, but that didn’t really change my opinion. Which means I had to come up with something on my own. My sample did not remain flat (Oh My; what a surprise; insert eye roll here.)

I used two different embossing folders for the layers and matted each of them. Instead of rectangles for the top layer, I made them into mini tags and finally a 4 layer vellum & mulberry butterfly.

2014-02-15 (1)

I used a Cuttlebug die and embossing folder set to cut 4 layers for the butterfly. 2 layers of white vellum, a layer of mulberry and finally some handmade paper on top. I added some 1/2 pearls for the body.

2014-02-15 (2)

I had a piece of a corner flourish left on my desk and not having any bling, I trimmed this to size and it is now a butterfly trail. I know, it looks like it’s poopin’ something out, but at least it’s pretty.

See the white dots? To make the tags I used a scrap of cardstock that I had been experimenting with. It’s stencil paste sprinkled with glitter. I thought it made an interesting background. At least I used it instead of throwing it on a pile.

2014-02-15 (3)

One last look before you go on your way…

2014-02-15 (4)

I will package this up with bubble wrap and mail it on to my swap partner.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 2014/02/21 1:13 pm

    Gorgeous!!! Love the layers. The butterfly is fantastic!! ~Sophia

Leave a Reply

