Skip to content

2014-02-14 Happy Valentine’s Day

2014/02/14

First order of business…Happy Valentine’s Day to you. Make sure you hug a close friend and kiss a loved one today to show them you care.

Now onto today’s card. This was a card I made for a man. Not manly you say? How about if I tell you he is a gardener and chomping at the bit to start digging and putting seedlings in the ground?

I bought the image from last years annual rummage sale. It was a partial set and with the help of some internet friends I found out that the name of it is Long time friend by Stampin’ Up. Once I knew that, I went to the SplitCoastStampers gallery and found a wonderful sample by Kitty. I cased the basket pretty closely and then added to the framing.

2014-02-14 (1)

A closer look at the basket lets you see all of the individual flowers. I colored the basket, pots and background using pastels (aka chalk) and a paper stub blender. I think it looks pretty good, and I didn’t have to buy the expensive alcohol markers to do it.

2014-02-14 (2)

When the card was given I explained that these were his veggie plants ready to be planted for spring. He liked the card and said just thinking about placing the tiny paper flowers made his fingers hurt 🙂

Lest I forget, the sentiment is by Autumn Leaves/Stampology; punches by Punch Bunch and a mini hole punch. The fence is from the Tim Holtz collection/Alterations and Petite large/small ovals by Spellbinders.

Happy Valentine’s Day

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 2014/02/14 2:16 pm

    Dont we all wish we could be picking a basket of flowers? That is such a pretty card. I love the dimension you gave to all the little flowers and the fence is a great finishing touch! Oh and very nice job with the colors!!!

  2. 2014/02/14 6:39 pm

    Awww…what a lovely card (and a lovely thought behind the card). I like the individual little flowers–each with their special accent (I couldn’t choose which is my favorite – I love the blue ‘suns’ and the little dot of shine on the yellow circles and the pearls on the white). And the way you colored the basket – it totally looks 3D.

Leave a Reply

