Skip to content

2014-02-08 Beachy theme swap card

2014/02/08

For a Beach theme swap I tried my hand at a water color background. With hand painted trees, pond, sand and sky. I used the stamp from the set Sketches by Stampin Up and a verse from the dollar bin by Vap Scrap

2014-02-04 (1)

To help add interest to my pitiful attempt I also add a part of the Cattails die by Spellbinders. I tried to make it look like real cattails by adding nut brown Flower Soft.

2014-02-04 (3)

These tiny shells were stamped, water colored, shaped and then added with 3-d mounting tape. The shell is from the Stampin Up set Stipple Shells.
2014-02-04 (4)

One last look before you go on about your day…
2014-02-04 (2)

And a note…I never realized the sky was an odd color until it was all said and done. Lets pretend it’s the color of the sky before a tornado.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kay Carlson permalink
    2014/02/08 9:34 am

    Another great card, Bonnie! Did you use sea salt to get that lovely mottled effect?

    • 2014/02/08 2:05 pm

      Kay, thank you and nope! The mottling in the clouds is just lots of water that I let pool and dry. The white speckles are the Stampin up stamp splatter that was embossed in clear prior to water coloring and then ironed off after everything was dry.

  2. chrissy bornfleth permalink
    2014/02/08 10:51 am

    I don’t think it is pitiful at all!!! I think it is great! Those shells look real!
    Chrissy

  3. 2014/02/08 4:41 pm

    Honestly, it is a beautiful card using one of my all-time favorite stamp sets! Way to go!

Leave a Reply

