Skip to content

2014-02-02 Bubble wrapped Valentine

2014/02/02

Last month I played with inking bubble wrap to create a background. It’s so easy and fun, give it a try.

Here I created a mask simulating a large piece of torn washi tape. Next I inked up some bubble wrap in various shades of pink & red and stamped. Leaving the mask in place I used a color duster to add a little more ink to the edges. The bubble dot piece is popped up using a large piece of fun foam. This gives the card stability and now I know it won’t waffle in the middle when it’s mailed.

The sentiment is an unmarked piece of rubber, so unfortunately I don’t know who made it. I stamped this onto pink parchment card stock and hand cut my own banner. I used 2 layers of 3-d mounting tape so that it will “wave” in the middle.

2014-01-24 (1)

The flowers all came from my jar. These are flowers that I’ve already hand made but they turned out to be extras and never made it to the finished project. I toss all the extras into an old flower vase and keep these on hand for quick projects. I grabbed 3 different kinds to make a bouquet. The white one is made from ribbon and has been rolled; the pink one is a die cut from card stock that has been rolled and shaped and the darker pink one is hand dyed crinoline (loose weave material), cut into strips and then rolled into a flower. The rest of the bouquet is made up of white Christmas tinsel; stamped & punched leaves (Martha Stewart); bits of tulle; and branch pieces from the Choloe stem (Memory Box).

2014-01-24 (3)

I used the heart die from the Hearts a Flutter set by Stampin Up and cut the heart. Next I backed it with some silver glitter card stock that has been dyed using a reinker and the color ruby also by Stampin up. I made sure to leave the same frame spacing (depth of backing) so it would give dimension.

2014-01-24 (4)

One last look before you head on about your way…

2014-01-24 (2)

Looks like bubble wrap is my newest go-to background!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 2014/02/02 11:25 am

    What a beautiful Valentine! I’ve heard of using bubble wrap but haven’t tried it yet.

  2. ribbons3 permalink
    2015/02/03 5:52 pm

    Love this card must try this idea!!

Leave a Reply

