Skip to content

2014-01-16 Showcasing a $1 stamp by Studio G

2014/01/16

What do you do with wild colored DSP? I decided to put a basket weave punch over it to calm it down a bit.

I started by just punching the basket weave punch by EK Success. I didn’t even bother to line it up. I decided not to worry about spacing after all, I’m just having fun, right?

Here are the supplies I used. In addition to these I should mention that I forgot to put the Martha Stewart leaf punch into the photo.

2014-01-16 (1)

It may not look like it, but this is a totally frugal design.
1-I didn’t give up on the poorly punched basket weave layer
2-gift of ribbon from my friend Chrissy
3-left over flowers from previous projects
4-rummage sale DSP purchase
5-gift of $1 stamp set from my stamping friend Sally.
That being said, here is what I came up with…

2014-01-16 (2)

This is the medallion that the $1 acrylic stamp is centered on. I added some Jelly Roll Glaze pen to the hearts and some stencil shading using Antique Linen.

2014-01-16 (4)

Forgive the wet glitter glue but I felt I needed to fill in the gaps of the hand made flowers. These were made using the Stampin’ Up punch. I dropped seed pearls into the centers. I love the fact that these were left over from previous projects. All I had to do is pick them up, add glue and it was done.

2014-01-16 (5)

One last look before you go on about your day.

2014-01-16 (3)

I’m thinking this could be used for a Valentine’s Day greeting too. The little hearts set the tone. All I’d need to do is add the appropriate greeting on the inside. Or, just use as a thinking of you card. I guess it depends on what type of card I’ll need first.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 2014/01/16 4:33 pm

    Absolutely gorgeous!!!! I have never seen that punch or die you used for the background. The colors and flowers and bow and EVERYTHING is just beautiful!

  2. 2014/01/16 5:56 pm

    Bonnie, I can’t tell you how outstanding I think this card is! What a great idea to use a layer over some wild paper. Please PLEASE tell me who makes that basket weave die.

  3. Mary permalink
    2014/01/16 6:03 pm

    Bonnie I absolutely love your card. I see that the punch is by EK Success it is a beauty, must keep my eyes open to source on here in Aust. postage too expensive to get from O/S

    • 2014/01/16 6:10 pm

      Thank you, Mary. When I looked at the punch in the photo, I realized it was EK Success. No wonder it looks so nice!

  4. 2014/01/17 10:59 am

    Such a pretty card, Bonnie! I’ve seen the punch before and never had an interest in it, but you sure showcased it wonderfully and may have changed my mind!

  5. Jann permalink
    2014/01/18 7:40 pm

    bonnie: I have a new lust after toy. the Basket Weave Punch. I looked on Ek’s websiteiwout luck.

    Help help help

    Jann

    • 2014/01/18 8:46 pm

      I think I bought it about a year ago from Joann’s. I of course used a coupon. There are a few other punches that are similar to the basket weave. If you can’t find the specific punch maybe you could locate the other one I have called Geometric. Good luck on your quest!

Leave a Reply

