Skip to content

2014-01-15 Trying out paper piecing

2014/01/15

A stamping friend suggested that we both watch a video and then try making a card and share it with each other. The first video we watched was by Gina K on Paper Piecing. (Video shared below)

I pretty much followed the sketch. I did change it up as I wanted to add a sentiment that wouldn’t fit on the lower panel. Instead I opted for the repeated oval design.

2014-01-15 (3)

The sentiment is by The Angel Company (TAC). It was matted on Petite ovals by Spellbinders. The coffee beans are by the Paper Studio. These were stamped, cut out and molded slightly. I used 3-d mounting tape to stick them to the card. Once attached I added an antique lacquer and sprinkled lightly with champagne glitter.

2014-01-15 (2)

The coffee cup and steam swirls are by Stampin’ Up from the set Espresso Yourself. This was colored with Bic markers. I added more of the antique lacquer to represent coffee.

2014-01-15 (5)

I formed the bow and wrapping around the card with ecru crochet thread which I thought matched the coffee theme.

2014-01-15 (1)

I am pretty sure my stampin’ buddy will like the card as I myself love how it turned out. I rarely color much less use markers and I’m pleased it turned out as well as it did.

One last look before you travel along on your way….

2014-01-15 (4)

Video courtesy of StampTV

One Comment leave one →
  1. 2014/01/15 3:14 pm

    Very cute design and sentiment!

Leave a Reply

