Skip to content

2014-01-14 More stencils & stencil paste

2014/01/14

I made this sample the other day when I was playing with stencils and stencil paste. The stencil has three different pots on it. I selected the leafy looking one at the time I was making a mess with paste. I really liked how it turned out.

2014-01-10 (1)

I started backwards (as usual) and die cut the stencil piece first and then went looking for a mat to make it look nice. Next I went to a pad of DSP and a bunch of pieces from previous project fluttered to the floor at my feet. I picked two that were card sized and set them aside while I scooped the rest of the pieces back into the front of the pad and replaced on the shelf. I guess so that next time I can watch confetti again. But I was in card making mode, not cleaning so I moved on.

2014-01-10 (9)

Let’s start with the stencil piece first. I laid the stencil down over watercolor paper and chalked the image. Next I added the paste and while that was still wet I sprinkled with Prisma Glitter. I think the colors turned out pretty well.

2014-01-10 (6)

Next up are the leafy branches. These are all the same leaf branch (Martha Stewart) punched over & over again. I added some leaf veins and shaped them a bit, adding to the card as I went. Once it looked full enough to me I took some of the left over strings from the burlap and made a bow. As a final highlight I pulled out a tray of Radiant Pearls (Remember those??) They are still good, even after all these years. I just highlighted some of the leaves with them to give them a little shine.

2014-01-10 (5)

I hunted down high and low for this stamp (Stampin’ Up from Sweet Herbs set) because I thought the plant looked herby. I cut it out, added wire and 3-d mounting tape.

2014-01-10 (4)

and one last look before you go on your merry way.

2014-01-10 (8)

This is the last of the stencil pieces that I waited to dry from the other day. Time to dig out something else that hasn’t see the light of day for years!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 2014/01/14 1:11 am

    Dear Bonnie… you’ve got magic in your hands!! all your work is just fab. Wanted to check one thing with you…the leaves that you’ve placed in the front and tied with jute thread, are these leaves readily available like other embellishments or you cut them out from paper and color them??

    • 2014/01/14 10:58 am

      These are all the same leaf branch (Martha Stewart) punched over & over again. I added some leaf veins and shaped them a bit, adding to the card as I went. Once it looked full enough to me I took some of the left over strings from the burlap and made a bow. As a final highlight I pulled out a tray of Radiant Pearls (Remember those??) They are still good, even after all these years. I just highlighted some of the leaves with them to give them a little shine.

  2. 2014/01/14 1:49 pm

    Very creative card! I think I actually have that stencil and never used it. I love the way you framed it………….great embellishing and layout!

  3. 2014/01/17 4:37 pm

    Can you tell me what stencil paste you used? Most of the pastes I have seen are white but yours appears to be clear.

    Thanks,
    Robbie

    • 2014/01/18 8:44 pm

      It was by Dreamweavers, and the one I used for the chalk/glitter was “translucent” Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

