Skip to content

2014-01-13…Stencils Ma’m, just the stencils

2014/01/13

The other day when I pulled out supplies to make a layered gesso background I also brought out my box of brass stencils. Many of them were purchased when a store went out of business and I never even opened them. Today’s share shows what I did with 2 of the stencils. You can see them pictured below.

2014-01-09 (1)

The card base was masked, then sponged. I used the dot stencil and white ink with dauber to add polka dots to the background. The flower stencil was matted and I die cut the circle using Spellbinder dies.

2014-01-09 (2)

Here you can see the stencil of the flower head. I laid out the stencil, then added pastels, translucent stencil paste and finally Prisma Glitter. For the circle element, I cut 3 circles and fussy glued them together for strength. I added a layer of antique crystal effects; then sprinkled with champagne glitter.

2014-01-09 (4)

I added a tiny bow using gold metallic crochet thread and a 1/16th” hole punch. To keep everything in place I added a tiny drop of glue on top of the knot.

2014-01-09 (6)

I used a Hero Arts zig-zag stamp for faux stitching. You can also see the stenciled polka-dots and how the circle was layered over the flower.

2014-01-09 (8)

One last look before you go on about your business…
2014-01-09 (3)

A nice clean design and I got to play with things I haven’t touched for years or never even opened. Kind of satisfying.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 2014/01/13 4:56 am

    Beautiful, Bonnie – so many wonderful details! I have that same daisy stencil, and probably have a dots one, too:)

  2. 2014/01/13 10:53 am

    So fun to see a card that used a brass stencil. Love your card and that glittery circle around the blossom. Dry embossing etc was the way I started making cards but then got away from it by stamping. I really need to get all my stencils out again. I see Lynette’s comment………she and I are on the same Yahoo group and we meet once a year.

  3. Mary permalink
    2014/01/13 5:33 pm

    Love stencils Bonnie 🙂 and your use of them is fantastic.

Leave a Reply

