Skip to content

2014-01-10 Layered Gesso background

2014/01/10

It’s been so stinkin’ cold out we haven’t gone anywhere. So I have holed up in my basement craft space and started playing with this weeks technique video by SplitCoastStampers. I pulled out paints, stamps, ink, and embossing paste…and that was before I ever started the card!

After watching the video, here is the background that I created. I did not have Gesso, so I improvised and just watered down some white acrylic paint. I went digging through my supplies and actually found a small jar of embossing paste. I expected it to be a dried up brick but it was still good!

2014-01-08 (3)

Now that you’ve seen what I started with; here is the finished card:

2014-01-10 (2)

I started by cutting my background in half and widening it with a piece of border punched (Martha Stewart) card stock to widen it. I sewed the pieces down to a mat using variegated sewing thread. You can see that as a final touch I also added a foil sticker.

2014-01-10 (6)

These are flowers that I handmade sometime ago. I ended up not using them on the original project and threw them into a big glass vase filled with other flowers that never made the final cut. I stamped & punched leaves (Martha Stewart and created a mini bouquet.

2014-01-10 (4)

using two Spellbinders dies I made the mat for the sentiment. This is by Stampin Up from the set Words of Wisdom. I gave up on the Liquid Pearls and instead opted for 1/2 pearls. At least these won’t squish flat once they are put into an envelope.

2014-01-10 (5)

and one last look at the final design. I do have a comment…this is the uglier of the two backgrounds that I made. I had no idea it would turn out this nice. So my words of wisdom for the day is if you start an art project don’t give up on what you are creating. Once it’s finished and used in a final design, the results might just pleasantly surprise you.

2014-01-10 (2)

video courtesy SplitCoastStampers

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mitzi Luttrull permalink
    2014/01/23 10:52 pm

    Bonnie, this is beautiful! Thanks for linking the video, too.

Leave a Reply

