Skip to content

2014-01-08 Sketch Challenge SC470

2014/01/08

I was up early and with the house quiet came to my desk and played. The sketch challenge (SC470) for the week at SplitCoastStampers was up, so I jumped in.

Basically, I just picked a DSP that appealed to me, found some matching card stock colors by picking colors out of the DSP and just started cutting pieces to size. Here’s what I ended up with.

2014-01-08 (7)

All the dies I used this time were by Spellbinders. Here I created a frame using the sentiment from the Stampin Up set Friend to Friend and flourishes from Doodle This. I added liquid pearls and crystal gems to embellish. I can say I’m not very satisfied with the liquid pearls. I didn’t know that even though they are dry, they still squish flat when they get pressure on them. Making them pretty, but not very mailable. 😦

2014-01-08 (8)

This section of the card was also made with Nestability dies. I pierced holes in the scallop border; embellished the rectangle with the flourish from Doodle This, liquid pearls and crystal gems.

2014-01-08 (9)

To make the bow I used some hand dyed seam binding and wrapped it loosely over my hand so I could keep the crinkles in the ribbon. I slid it off and pinched it in the middle and quickly put the pearl brad around it. I had punched a hole using my big bite Crop-a-dile and then using the same brad attached it to the card base.

2014-01-08 (10)

The hardest part about this card was making the fancy frame stand up from the inner part of the frame. There wasn’t much room for adding 3-d mounting tape and it was pretty putzy placing all those tiny pieces in the right place and then pealing off the backing. If the Queen of Putz says this, you know it must be true.

You maybe able to see in the close up photos, that I added crystal gems and holographic stickers randomly over the DSP background. Not very visible in the over-all photo, but it really adds some glimmer in real life.

2014-01-08 (6)

I’m glad I was up early because I really like the shabby-chic look of this.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mary permalink
    2014/01/09 5:45 pm

    My goodness Bonnie you certainly went all out on the bling 🙂 gorgeous. I know what it is like trying to get those slivers of mounting tape to stay straight LOL

Leave a Reply

