Skip to content

2014-01-07 Wax resist using embossing folder

2014/01/07

This is my 2nd try at a wax resist technique as suggested in one of my groups. The first time I tried, I used crumpled was paper. For this try I added using a Cuttlebug embossed piece of wax paper to create a background that matched the embossing on the upper part of the card. The one stamp used on this card is the sentiment, by Endless Creations.

2014-01-05 (3)

This is how I started out…take the wax paper and emboss it using an embossing folder of your choice. Next iron the wax paper between 2 pieces of card stock. As the final step, sponge colors of your choice onto the card stock to see the wax resist image.

2014-01-05 (1)

Next I pulled out supplies. I think this is everything it took to make this card except the card stock which includes the holograph paper for punching/die cutting the snowflakes.

2014-01-05 (2)

Here you can see the large snowflake, some doodling to outline the central image and the background embossing on the upper part of the card. This was also rubbed with a VersaMark ink pad and then dusted with white Perfect Pearls for shimmer.

2014-01-05 (7)

This shot shows a pretty good look at the wax resist, a small punched snowflake and more of the doodling.

2014-01-05 (5)

To finish of this card I added a photo corner which punched out of some of the excess wax resist card stock. I covered it in glue and then dipped it into glitter. Once it was dry enough to touch, I added 3-d mounting tape and a button from the button box.

2014-01-05 (6)

I think the photo corners and buttons really add a lot to the finished design. And I found out that I’m pretty fond of wax resist.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 2014/01/07 11:06 am

    Hi Bonnie:
    Reading about a challenge is one thing but when you sit down and actually do it like you did it shows you that there are so many different ways that you can use it. Love the close up pictures. I thank you for taking part in this one.
    Margaret

  2. 2014/01/07 11:21 am

    Bonnie, briliiant!

Leave a Reply

