Skip to content

2014-01-03 Snowy Wreath

2014/01/03

Christmas is past and New Years is over. What does that leave? Winter cards are my theme for January. And to start my winter cards in style, here is a cool penguin card.

I started making this card from the top layer down because I wanted to play with the build a wreath by Cottage Cutz. This is the first die I’ve had by that company and I have to say that if they are all like this one; don’t hesitate to get it. It cut beautifully. I also like the fact that the design is all on one die “plate” so there are no little pieces to lose.

2014-01-03 (1)

I used a Recollections $1 stamp for the banner. I stamped, then trimmed, folded and added the hand cut fish tails. I looked and looked for double sided sticky tape, but no luck. Finally in frustration I smeared Tacky Glue over the top layer of the banner. This was dipped into clear mini marbles and topped off with punches punched from hologram paper. I’m glad to say that the Tacky Glue worked just fine. I just had to keep my fingers off of it until it dried.
2014-01-03 (3)

I fussy glued 4 of the wreaths together to give it some strength. I added flower soft, punched snowflakes & snowballs. I matted this onto two different Spellbinder label dies.
2014-01-03 (4)

I’ve had this cute penguin since probably one of the first years I’ve started stamping. I think it was from the first Close to my Heart party I went to. He was stamped using Memento black and colored with a combination of pastels and alcohol markers.
2014-01-03 (5)

I had this double layer bow all tied and laying lose on my ribbon desk. I must have made it for another project and ultimately it didn’t fit in. Which worked out great for today. All I did was glue it down and add a hologram snowflake punch to finish off the project.
2014-01-03 (6)

One last look at the card before you go. I am slowly using up the little snowballs that I bought from the craft store. You can look forward to them all this month as I will want to use them up!
2014-01-03 (2)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Collette permalink
    2014/01/03 1:45 am

    What an adorable card, Bonnie!!

  2. Dani Little permalink
    2014/01/03 11:48 am

    Seriously cute card!!!!!

  3. chrissy bornfleth permalink
    2014/01/04 12:44 pm

    You won’t want to give him away either! I guess this means that our Jan shoebox card will have snowballs on it!!

Trackbacks

  1. 2014-01-06…. 3 Tiered Card | The Craftiblog

Leave a Reply

