Skip to content

2013-12-23 Hooter in the leaves

2013/12/23

A stamping friend of mine bought a Cricut a while back. She told me that she still hasn’t opened the box. This is my card to her, in hopes of her getting out the new machine and trying it out.

The card was made using the Cricut cartridges Paisley and Serenade. I also used a flower punch, circle punch and border punch to finish off the design.

2013-12-23 (1)

I fussy glued 4 of the flower punches and circle punches together. For the faux button, I made the top layer in metallic gold card stock, covered the button with crystal effects and when dry, added bakers twine. You can probably see a wet dot of crystal effects in the center of the bow…that will hold it tight, so it doesn’t slip.

2013-12-23 (4)

I pieced the owl together with all of its layers and do-dads (Paisley cartridge). I embellished the eyes with crystal effects, pastels and brads.

2013-12-23 (5)

The Fiskars grass border punch got a work out. I punched two layers adding sponging to the back layer. I made sure to add 3-d mounting tape so they were “above” the owl. I also embellished the flower on the owl’s wing. I added crystal effects and then sprinkled champagne colored glitter. The center is topped off with a brad.

2013-12-23 (6)

The background was print pressed with the leaf background (Sizzix) and each little leaf was embellished with glitter pen highlights. The tree and leaves were cut with the Serenade cartridge. The tree branches were embossed using a wood grain embossing folder (Tim Holtz) and leaves were run through my Fiskars crimping tool.

2013-12-23 (7)

One last look at the overall card.

2013-12-23 (2)

This design isn’t really my style, but it was a nice change of pace. I hope it inspires my stamping friend to open the box!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer permalink
    2013/12/24 8:35 am

    I think this is a FANTASTIC card! I love all of the details…inking, glitter, crystal effects (is that like glossy accents?), punches…just everything! This should definitely inspire your friend to open up her Cricut.

  2. Cindy DiTullio permalink
    2013/12/24 9:01 am

    What an inspiring reason to get using her Cricut! Love It@

Leave a Reply

