Skip to content

2013-12-22. Sketch challege SC467 pine branch holiday greetings

2013/12/22

After I finished working out this morning I sat down to catch my breath. I pulled up this weeks sketch challenge at SplitCoastStampers. (See sketch HERE)

I started building the card from the pine branch down, so the sizes of the mats are a little wonky as compared to the sketch. However I really like how this turned out.

2013-12-22 (1)

To make the medallion I stamped the circle stamp from the Stampin Up set, Riveting 2 times. Once on brown and once on a patterned DSP. Each of these were heat embossed in gold then cut out and matted.

2013-12-22 (3)

As this is a snowy theme, I went ahead and added the snowball stick pins. There are an awful lot of those little snowballs in the baggie so I know you will be seeing them all through January.

The bow was tied with gold metallic crochet cotton. I tied two triple layered bows (small and large) and then tied them all together. They were a bit slippery, so I used a reverse tweezers to hold things in place until I had a good grip on everything.

2013-12-22 (4)

I started by gold embossing the pine branch. Next I added pastels and with a tissue, smudged them around to blend. I hand embossed the frame around the border and the falling snow. I added glitter to the dry embossed dots. I also added some glittery red berries randomly between the pine needles.

2013-12-22 (5)

One last look at the card. I will list the supplies as best I can below.

2013-12-22 (2)

H2887 Real Pine stamp by Hero Arts
Riveting set by Stampin Up
Snowflake border embossing folder by Stampin Up
Square embossed border by Cuttlebug from the set Pop Culture
White Pom-poms, stick pins
Metallic gold crochet thread

I think that about covers it. Let me know if you have any questions.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 2013/12/22 9:35 am

    Bonnie, I love the way you used the green pastel with the embossed gold branches. Wonderful idea! What are “reverse tweezers”? Are they the ones that are clamped closed in their “default” position until you open them to curl flower petals, for example?

    • 2013/12/22 10:35 am

      Yes! Those are the ones. Mine is a cutterbee brand. I never thought I’d use them much, but they sure come in handy!

      • 2013/12/22 12:02 pm

        Thank you! That’s another good way to use this tool — it’s going to make tieing bows so much easier.

  2. Anne permalink
    2013/12/22 11:06 pm

    Beautiful card.

  3. 2013/12/23 2:52 am

    Beautiful rubber stamp artwork, Bonnie. I love the embossing, well done!! I have this pine branch stamp from Hero as well but I have never made as beautiful a card as you have here. TFS. Hugs, Gayle.

  4. May permalink
    2014/01/01 6:10 pm

    Love your card Bonnie .Lovely start for the New Year
    Wishing you very Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

