Skip to content

2013-12-07 December tag of the Month

2013/12/07

December’s Tag of the Month is here and this time the theme was Hearth & Home. When I thought about the theme I had so many memories of Christmas time and getting together with my Dad and Sisters. Those days are gone, but I still have good memories, so my tag this month is “My Heart goes home for Christmas”

I created the background by first using distress stains in blue & white. This was overstamped using large background stamps by Hero Arts: Grid Pattern and Italian Poetry. As usual most of the background is covered up, but you can see some of it on the bottom left of the tag.

2013-12-02 (1)

I die cut the flower using the Layered Poinsettia by Spellbinders. Rather than fill the center with Flower Soft this time, I instead just popped a ready made ribbon rose down in the middle. I die cut a larger petal in green and used those for leaves.
2013-12-02 (2)

I created a pine branch border (Pine branch die by Memory Box) and layered this over a border of lace. To finish off the raw edges I cut a narrow strip of Cranberry cardstock and ran it through my Fiskars crimping tool.

2013-12-02 (3)

I did not have a stamp in the sentiment that I wanted to convey, so I printed out a bunch of various sizes and fonts then picked my favorite. The final choice is generated in the font Kayleigh in size 12. I used my Nestabilities Label die to cut it out and then stencil color on. As a finish, I added a crackle medium. I think it turned out pretty cool as all of the cracks radiate outward from the center of the sentiment. This piece was layered over a Fleur De Lis Pendant that I cut twice and then joined together for a fancy border.

2013-12-02 (4)

I don’t know if this tag will evoke Christmas memories for my swap partner like it did for me, but I sure hope so!

One Comment leave one →
  1. 2013/12/07 11:27 am

    Great tag, Bonnie! And love the theme!!!

Leave a Reply

