Skip to content

2013-12-02 Cricut cut Christmas Tree

2013/12/02

I turned on my Cricut and cut a fancy tree from the cartridge, Trim a Tree. It took a lot of work with a craft knife to get the die cut cleaned up enough to use (see the last photo of this post). I made sure to use papers that I’ve had for years, so I can start using some of my stock up. Here is what I came up with.

2013-12-02 (2)

I made my own embellishments, snow ball stick pins. These are made from air dry clay and molded onto a stick pin. I covered the dried ball in Tacky Glue and then rolled it into micro fine glitter. The bow is made from crochet thread.

2013-12-02 (3)

I hand cut the banner using my paper trimmer and then a punch to make the fish tail ends. Each little mini banner is embellished with a green crystal gem.

2013-12-02 (4)

After I had cleaned up the tree die cut with a craft knife, I added glue pen and pressed the whole thing into micro fine glitter. This was glued down to two oval die cut mats and finally onto the largest beaded oval die all from Spellbinders. The tree looked fine as it was, but I went ahead and added some tiny green and gold crystal gem ornaments.
2013-12-02 (5)

And one more angle so you can get a good look at the finished card.

2013-12-02 (1)

Take a look at the terrible cuts my Cricut did trying to cut out these ornate Christmas Trees. These were cut at 3″ and the one on the card was at 3 1/2″. I used a new blade, new mat and had the pressure set at maximum. I am thinking that my machine can only do this type of design in much larger sizes to get clean cuts.

2013-12-02 (6)

It’s no wonder I seldom turn on the machine. It’s frustrating.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 2013/12/02 10:11 am

    Bonnie, this is awesome, simply gorgeous!!!

  2. Brenda in IN permalink
    2013/12/02 1:20 pm

    This is a beautiful card. I love the decorated tree and the banner just adds to it.

  3. Loralei B permalink
    2013/12/04 12:49 am

    I don’t know which Cricut you have, but with the intricate cuts you almost always have to cut twice, if it’s tearing when you cut then your pressure is too high (sounds backwards, but true) but some of them just will not cut at smaller sizes. I was majorly frustrated myself until I got a gypsy, which allows you to choose the option to cut more than once on any machine. If you have the smaller (personal) machine, Start your cut on the zero mark and when it’s done cutting instead of unloading the mat, push the load button again and it will return to the exact starting point and you can enter the cut again. Learned a lot from youtube videos when I first started! Great card and don’t give completely up…..

  4. 2013/12/04 1:01 am

    I’m glad you stuck with this. The card is beautiful.

  5. RobinF permalink
    2013/12/06 6:57 pm

    Beautiful card!!! Love how the tree turned out in the end!

  6. neckstyles permalink
    2013/12/08 1:27 am

    Beautiful card! I’m glad you stuck with it : ) New cutting blade!! that’s the ticket : )

    Patti

Leave a Reply

