Skip to content

2013-11-30 And so it begins…Christmas Card Avalanche

2013/11/30

I have only shared 3 Christmas cards (from the November Shoebox meeting), but now the Christmas card “season” really begins. To start off my season I made this Martha Stewart punch around the page card. Earlier this month I brought out the punches and had trouble when I made THIS CARD. Blog reader Linda helped me out and gave me measurements from the original packaging. Now that I have recent experience, it went much easier.

The verse is from the retired Stampin Up set, Words of Wisdom.

Here is what I came up with…

2013-11-30 (2)

This view will show the different layers, I matted the two punched layers with DSP and added tiny crystal gems. I popped up the upper two layers using fun foam. This keeps the card flat; it won’t waffle when mailed AND you don’t need extra postage to mail it.

2013-11-30 (4)

Keeping in mind that I want to keep this flat, I used fun foam that had been colored with red and used that for my berries. I topped them with crystal effects for a little shine. The pine branch by Memory Box was tipped with artichoke ink and the holly leaves by Martha Stewart were also sponged using both artichoke and black. I added some jelly roll glitter pen for the leaf veins.

2013-11-30 (3)

And a final angle so you can get one last look at the beginning of the Christmas Card Avalanche.

The top fancy oval layer was die cut from the Spellbinder die Floral Ovals and then sponged with Memento Pear Tart ink.

2013-11-30 (1)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

