Skip to content

2013-11-20 November Shoebox project #1

2013/11/20

Last evening was my November Shoebox meeting. I know that the ladies will always need an extra Christmas card at the last minute and this one will be perfect for that purpose.

I pulled out my $1 rummage sale find, the Stampin Up set Deer Friends. I hesitated on buying this as I didn’t think I would ever use it; but for $1, how can you go wrong? I used left over DSP from my Christmas card project** and was able to use bits and pieces to create this design.

The sentiment is a gift from my stamping friend, Kellyrae from when she was a TAC demonstrator. I was a lucky beneficiary of her retiring and received a huge wonderful package of duplicate images that she had acquired.

2013-11-19 (4)

I also used the set So Many Scallops to create the layering under the cute deer. I am not fond of the red glitter on the nose; I think it would look much better colored red and then crystal accents added to make it shinny and red.

The layering was made stamping the same deer image twice; once on white and punching it out and then stamped again in green and punching it out. Unfortunately, I didn’t have a punch in these sizes so instead I pre-stamped and die cut the images for the ladies (Shoebox etiquette making things easier when at someone Else’s home) using Spellbinder Large & Small circle dies. Both of these pieces are layered over the scallop image

2013-11-19 (1)

The inside of the card was decorated using the same DSP as the front of the card along with a Holiday sentiment.

**Christmas card project: I packed an entire tool box of supplies and took it with me to a cottage for this past weekend. This is the only time of year I can get my husband and craft with me and he helped die cut, cut mats and glue layers all weekend. The 2013 Christmas cards are now completed (Thanks Honey!) and you will get to see them 12-25-13! Until then, I have other Christmas cards for friends/stamping friends to make and get mailed out.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

