Skip to content

2013-11-05 Double embossed background & 1/2 doily

2013/11/05

This card is in honor of the passing of my Cuttlebug. I was working on another project and was trying to shim up an uncooperative die. In the process I broke the machine.

I have a son and husband who are mechanically inclined and knowing if I got stuck could get help. I got out my screwdriver and popped off one of the side panels. I snapped the main gear shaft 😦 I checked around on line and can’t find replacement parts other than the cutting plates. Perhaps you may have found some? If so please let me know.

Now, onto the double embossed card. I started out by using a stamped piece that really didn’t turn out well from my parts box. Originally it started out as the back ground by Stampin’ Up, Well Worn Words stamped in distress ink Old Paper. To resurrect the piece I tried stamping a flourish from the set Baroque Motifs. Still not good.

I then went to my beloved (now deceased) Cuttlebug and reverse embossed script. I sponged on a few more distress colors and then embossed again with Musical Flourish. I used the gold pigment ink pad DTP to add some highlights.

2013-11-02 (2)

To make sure that the background was still visible I added just a few flowers and part of a doily. These are all handmade flowers from punches. I keep a jar on my table filled with handmade flowers so I can just grab and stick them on when ready. From top to bottom, the die cuts & punches are as follows: Doily by Tim Holtz; Chloe Stem by Memory Box; leaf punch by Martha Stewart; large flower by Sizzix; 2 small pink flowers by Stampin Up (Mixed Bunch Punch).

2013-11-02 (3)

Thanks for stopping by and please if you know of replacement parts for Cuttlebug, let me know!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    2013/11/05 11:26 am

    Bonnie, I love how you inked the flower, and I think your embossing technique here is really clever. Thanks for the great pictures!

  2. LynneZ permalink
    2013/11/05 9:30 pm

    Bonnie – This card is so beautiful. The colors are just breathtaking. I love everything about it.

Leave a Reply

