Skip to content

2013-10-31…Doodle This with Whimsical Words

2013/10/31

I know you probably expected to see a halloween card. Everyone is doing them it seems but not me. I don’t celebrate this day and instead have opted for a bright a cheerful design that I sent out as a thank-you card for a good friend.

I started out with a one-layer design and ended up with this….

2013-08-15 (1)

At the point I was stamping the flowers, this was still a one layer design. Here I’ve stamped, masked, stamped, colored with pastels and then sealed with a fixative laced with gold PearlEx. Once the fixative was dry I then dotted a 2-way glue pen and then sprinkled with gold glitter.
chalked & gold glittered flowers
2013-08-15 (2)

Here is where I veered sightly from the one layer. I added a punched border in orange and backed with some coordinating scrapbook paper. To ease the line between the base and added border, I carefully glued down gold cord. It was tricky not to get glue everywhere but was able to get the glue where I wanted using the point of a pin.
2013-08-15 (3)

The stamp set used is called Doodle This; a retired set by Stampin Up. The verse, also by Stampin Up is from the set Whimsical Words.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Val Billing permalink
    2013/10/31 2:22 am

    Hi there,Thank goodness someone who does not celebrate halloween ,it is all gloom and doom. And life needs a little bit of sunshine, bless you Val

    • 2013/11/01 11:11 am

      Val, I guess we are walking the narrow path when it comes to halloween. Thanks for your encouragement that I’m not alone.

  2. 2013/10/31 9:40 am

    I like what you did with the Doodle This stamp set. I have that one and have not had a lot of luck with it………..actually going to see if I can sell it. Your card is a very happy design!

    • 2013/11/01 11:13 am

      Vicki, this is a new to me set purchased at a rummage sale a couple of months ago. It looks like a fun set if you need whimsical flowers.

  3. 2013/11/01 11:31 am

    Too cute…I love this stamp set and love your design.
    Blessings! Heidi

  4. chrissy bornfleth permalink
    2013/11/01 3:03 pm

    I love those flower stamps!!! I’ll bet you got them at Wendy’s sale.

Leave a Reply

