Skip to content

2013-10-30 September stamp camp Exploding box, now finished!

2013/10/30

In September I brought home the basic pumpkin exploding box. You can see those photos here: EXPLODING BOX

I took some time last evening to finish up the box. It took some doing to get the stem finished as I’d like, but it turned out just fine.

Here is the finished box. It was hard to really give a good angle, so I took lots of close ups so you can see detail.

2013-10-30 (1)

I had stamped leaves when I was at stamp camp. I brought them home, cut them out, added sponging and then crimped them.

2013-10-30 (2)

I took some twine and dampened it then wrapped it around a skewer and let dry. I separated the twine into individual pieces and these became my pumpkin tendrils. I also added some plastic faceted beads.

2013-10-30 (3)

To make the stem, I took some card stock and folded it over a few times to give it some stability. Taking hot glue, twine and some gold cording I began wrapping it around the card stock. It really gave the stem some strength. I cut a slot in the top of the box and pushed it through, hot gluing it to the inside.

2013-10-30 (4)

Now I’ve opened the box and propped the cover upright in the background. I made sure to cover both the inside and outside of the panels to give it a nice finished look. To color the embossed panels, I used pastels and Perfect Pearls.

2013-10-30 (5)

I also decorated the inside bottom of the box so that even when the gift is removed, it will still look attractive. Here I’ve added some gold embossed borders, leaves, beads and the bottom panel is embossed.

2013-10-30 (6)

This really turned out beautifully and will make a lovely presentation for what ever fall gift I put into it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 2013/10/30 11:05 am

    It’s decorated so beautifully for this time of year!!! Looks like a lot of time went into it!!!

  2. lisa808 permalink
    2013/10/30 5:18 pm

    Love the embellishing.

  3. 2013/11/01 9:13 am

    Oh my gosh, this is gorgeous. You come up with the most wonderful ideas. Not sure I have the patience to create anything this detailed, but it is so fun to see your beautiful creations in my inbox every day. Thanks!

    • 2013/11/01 11:16 am

      Thank you for your warm comment; I use the word warm as I visited your blog and I must say you are a talented quilt maker! I have always wanted to try a quilt but I’m not a sewer.

  4. chrissy bornfleth permalink
    2013/11/01 3:04 pm

    Very cool box. I love all the detail you put into your work!!

Trackbacks

  1. 2013-10-06…September Stamp Camp project #5 – pumpkin explosion box & review | The Craftiblog

Leave a Reply

