Skip to content

2013-10-29 Frugal desk accessory or just bored?

2013/10/29

This past weekend we went away to our cottage. I have very few craft supplies there however; I do have some really old tubes of paint and a few small brushes. When I came across an empty baked bean can, you can see that I was desperate to do something. Here you can see the basic can that has been base painted, a butter cream coat added and then some leaf sprays. When I got home I added some 3-d paint to the flowers and then some glitter glue on the leaves.

2013-10-29 (2)

To help make this new desk accessory aka pen & brush cup look less like a painted bean can I added some lace, ribbon, bow and decorated stick pins. You can see that I wove the ribbon into the lace. This is hand dyed seam binding and I used red line adhesive to attach it to the rim of the can. Once I covered the metal up, I think it looked better.

2013-10-29 (3)

Here is a different angle so you can see the stick pins and bow. In hind sight, I probably should have left the bow off as it might be in the way on my crowded desk.

2013-10-29 (1)

I will use the cup to stand some of my tools in, but you can decide. Was this desperation or a frugal attempt at a desk accessory? I’m thinking desperation ๐Ÿ˜‰

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Gerry permalink
    2013/10/29 9:11 pm

    Yes, I’m thinking desperation, but highly creative desperation.

    • 2013/10/29 11:21 pm

      Gerry: Such a kind comment for my ugly little bean can! It is in use on my desk and I’m thinking if I save a few more cans I can paint them and then wire them altogether to make them into a grouping of pencil cups. Talk about desperation ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. 2013/11/01 9:15 am

    Totally inspiration! It doesn’t look like a bean can any more to me.

  3. chrissy bornfleth permalink
    2013/11/01 3:05 pm

    You are so talented!!!! It can’t be easy to paint on that tin can.

Leave a Reply

