Skip to content

2013-10-21 Mercy Purchase…Bakers twine & Darice Leafy Tree embossing folder

2013/10/21

The two items I used to make the card (Darice Leafy Tree embossing folder and Baker’s Twine by Aunt Lydia’s Crochet Thread) were definitely a mercy purchase this past weekend. I was out on a window shopping trip with my husband and stopped at Joann’s just to look and see what’s new. They had all Darice embossing folders on sale for 30% off. They are not that pricey to start with, so the end cost was $2.79. I also had a 50% off coupon and used it on the Baker’s Twine. It was 2.99 so I got that for about $1.50. My husband has curtailed my purchases due to a job loss and I totally agree with him. Upon seeing the prices and coupon he approved the purchases and I don’t have to feel guilty about it.

And now onto the card using my new purchases… I colored the embossing (tree bark) with pastels and added some faux stitching holes. I think it balances out the tree.

2013-10-21 (3)

The verse is from the Acrylic set by TCP Studios called Autumn Harvest. It’s a nice set and has certainly been well used the past few seasons since I bought it.
2013-10-21 (2)

The leaves are all of the left-overs from the last Shoebox gathering at my house. I have now used every last one. You might be able to see why these were the left-over ones? It’s because this was a 2nd dipping of the card stock and the colors muddied just a bit. Even so, they really make the little embossed tree pop!
2013-10-21 (1)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 2013/10/21 6:58 pm

    Oh, job loss is so hard. Good luck to both of you.

  2. 2013/10/21 7:22 pm

    First of all and most importantly, I am so sorry about your husband losing his job! That is never an easy thing to experience. Your card is beautiful and you made it very economically. 🙂 Good for you! And good luck to your husband…….I hope he finds something that he likes soon!!!

  3. Brenda in IN permalink
    2013/10/22 9:55 am

    Wow, this is a beautiful card. I love the leaves. What bargains you got. I’m so sorry about the job loss. That is so hard. I hope he is able to get a new job soon. Good luck.

  4. 2013/10/25 5:19 am

    Fabulous card good luck in job search

  5. chrissy bornfleth permalink
    2013/11/01 3:08 pm

    Oh, I like how you used that folder and spiced it up with the leaves.

Trackbacks

  1. 2013-11-08 2nd play date project | The Craftiblog

Leave a Reply

