Skip to content

2012-11-02 Comparing Fabric Paint to Liquid Pearls

2012/11/02

Some of the supplies I used this morning are pictured below. I looked at both the fabric paint and the liquid pearls sitting on my desk and thought I would run a personal experiment. The used dryer sheet was die cut using the Sizzix die pictured.
It die cut beautifully and I didn’t even have to trim it out after die cutting. The large Nestablility die was used to cut a piece of red felt and then rolled into a flower. This had been made sometime ago and thrown into the Flower Vase for future use. Today was that day.

2012-11-02 (1)

I used a Martha Stewart punch to edge the card front border and then layered black and white over that. I made the banner using the EK Success tag punch and the verse is by Studio G. The Flourish is from Autumn Leaves and stamped in Pearlescent beige that was embossed in clear.

I do not know if you can see in the photo but I also used my Scor-Bug and Scor-Pal to puncture sewing marks near the borders. Another feature that is not really visible is the beige card liner on the inside of the card. You can see it peaking out along the right side of the card. I ran the Scor-Bug around the liner for texture and then added fabric paint drops next to that.

2012-11-02 (5)

This flower was found in my pre-made flowers. I didn’t think I would ever use it as it is made from felt and had a huge base. I decided to take a scissors and whack off between 1/2 and 1/3 of the base. I just made sure to use lots of fabric glue to glue it down to the dryer sheet faux doily. I also added some punches; pine branch by Martha Stewart and the leaves by Stampin’ Up.

2012-11-02 (6)

On this project I used the fabric paint to make the decorative dots. They are a frugal version of 1/2 pearls however they are not self leveling. Many of the dots have hershey kiss tops. Not a bad thing, but now I know that if I really want rounded pearl looking drops I need to stick to Liquid Pearls.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara Beck permalink
    2012/11/02 2:57 am

    Thanks for this, three of us were about to buy some fabric paint to try (it’s cheaper than liquid pearls) but I think we will now stick to the pearls. *Best Wishes*

    *Barbara B * *Independent Stampin’ Up Demonstrator*

  2. Lyman permalink
    2012/11/02 8:38 am

    now that is the height of creativity!! beautiful! thanks for sharing all your wonderful ideas.

Leave a Reply

