Skip to content

First Skirt

2010/10/11
by

I’m not sure if you are ready for an interruption from your regularly scheduled rubber stamping program. But some of you may remember that this originally started out as a mother/daughter craft blog. I’m afraid I haven’t checked in for a while, but my moms done an awesome job with this blog and I’m really impressed with her projects and the number of you who come to admire them. Since I recently started a new project, I wanted to stop in and let you know what I was up to though.

singer 66 sewing machine

This is what I used to learn to sew πŸ™‚ It’s a beautiful Singer 66 treadle sewing machine I recently found and repaired. And together we produced my first garment this weekend using Simplicity 2456. It is a simple skirt and great for a beginner like me with 6 panels, an elastic waist, and a nice flowing shape. It would lay much nicer if I was using better fabric, but this was clearance stuff I found at Walmart a few months back to practice with.

One thing I realized immediately upon opening the pattern package was that I did not have near enough room for this. I ended up throwing my cutting mat on the carpet and spreading out over the living room floor to cut and assemble. The hem came out a little rough if you look at it closely, but I think it turned out well and it fits perfectly.

first sewing project

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 2010/10/11 8:05 am

    The hem does not look rough in the photo. I’m sure you are being too hard on yourself as all artists are! Great job!!

    When you figure out how to make my butt look smaller and get those cheeks into some culottes, let me know.

  2. 2010/10/11 9:47 am

    LOL I’ll do that. One thing I liked is I was able to account for my big butt and make the hem lower in back so it didn’t hang crooked πŸ˜€

  3. Elaine Allen permalink
    2010/10/11 10:46 am

    Hi Viggie –

    The skirt looks great! What a neat idea to make it longer in the back to account for the extra elevation in padding that some of us accumulate – LOL! And I don’t see anything wrong with the hem. I love that sewing machine. My grandmother had one a little older than that, but it was stolen when they broke into her appartment about 1o years ago. She loved that machine and I remember all the clothes for myself and my siblings that were made on it.

    Elaine Allen

  4. Colorado permalink
    2010/10/11 11:58 am

    Viggie… I think you did a great job! My mother was a seamstress so I learned to sew when I was a kid and I used to make most of my clothes. I don’t sew much anymore as I am losing my eyesight due to a degenerative retinal disease and I have a lot of trouble seeing my stitches in the fabric, but I still try easy things every now and then. I’ve also done the same thing and crawled around down in the floor to cut things out… but lately, I put my cutting board/mat on the bed and it works pretty well for me and saves me some aches and pains. Good luck with your future sewing projects!!!!

Leave a Reply

