Skip to content

2010-07-07 Delighting in Life in Pink & Orange

2010/07/07

I was flipping through the DSP (decorative scrapbook paper) pad that I used yesterday. It has tags, alpha letters and frames in all of the same colors as the rest of the pad. There is also a totally bright pink section that I didn’t think I would EVER use. I think it’s just a little bright for my tastes. However, I did give it a try.

I made my first frame using a Nestabilities die from one of the many Label sets. It was really easier than I thought it would be. All I did was lay the two dies down together and cut (pink DSP). Poof! An instant frame. I cut a second time in (Orange DSP) to be the inside of the frame.

2010-07-03 002

I used a little different way to tie the frame down by using twine and a slip knot. You can see that I cuttlebugged each of the background layers and made the frame in two pieces. I did use my Scor-Buddy to add score lines between the DSP sections, but it didn’t show very well. I even tried to sand the embossed lines however I apparently didn’t sand enough because you can’t really see any additional embossing.
2010-07-03 006

I stamped the Stampin Up flower from the delight in life set twice. I used a sponge and added 3-4 different shades of Tim Holtz Distress Inks, then embossed in clear. I cut each of them out and using 3-d mounting tape layered then on top of each other. By again grabbing from the same DSP pad, I added punched leaves (Martha Stewart) out of some green scrap pieces. To add texture to the flower center I put a glob of Tulip 3-d glitter fabric paint in the center, dropped some seed beads and micro gold marbles down. Because I used the micro marbles, you may not be able to see that the fabric paint is still quite wet. It will take a good hour to dry thoroughly.
2010-07-03 005

4 Comments leave one →
  1. lois Skiathitis permalink
    2010/07/07 5:04 am

    This is gorgeous Bonnie, the colors go so well together. I love the whole layout of the card and the way you tied the twine with the slipknot for added interest. The embossed flower is so pretty. You framed the sentiment so nicely. Can you tell I love this card. LOL!! Beautiful work Bonnie. TFS!!! 😀

  2. 2010/07/07 7:07 am

    This card is stunning! Thanks for sharing it with us 🙂

  3. 2010/07/07 8:33 am

    So beautiful, Bonnie – I LOVE those flowers!

  4. Colorado permalink
    2010/07/07 11:19 am

    Bonnie, this is so lovely!! I’ve been in such a slump lately I am so in awe when I see ladies like you who create a new card every single day!

Leave a Reply

