Skip to content

2009-12-17 Frugal recreation of fancy curves

2009/12/17

I really liked the curved stamp on this card. I have always liked “shadow stamps” and have missed them. I should really just bring them out again and forget that these are not the hot item in the stamping world right now. Being as I’m economically challenged at this point, instead of going on a search to buy this stamp, I thought I’d try to see if I could find a frugal way to try to achieve similar results.

I decided I could try for the same look if I made my own stencil. I took a top of a Cool-Whip container (I’ve started saving these just because they are handy for die cuts) and cut off the outer rim.
2009-12-17 001

I took a ruler and drew a straight line, then lined up two different sizes of oval Nestabilities along the line I’d drawn. No worries about being neat, I’m just making a stencil I’m going to mess up any way.
2009-12-17 002

You can see I took a craft knife and sliced out the sections. I also thought my curved part was a smidgen to large, so when I was trimming, I free handed a smaller curve.
2009-12-17 003

And here you can see the finished card. I came sorta close to making a recreation of LateBlossom’s lovely CAS card. I threw the homemade stencil down so you could see that as well.
2009-12-17 005

Unfortunately I didn’t have rose colored crystals to add, but I did have some teal colored ones that somewhat match the ink I had sponged on.
2009-12-17 006

If I try to recreate this again, I’ve already got a stencil to use. I think if I really do try again that I would use a darker color of rose ink for the verse.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. 2009/12/17 7:11 am

    OMG, this is so COOL! What a creative and clever way to recreate the look of the stamp! You nailed it!

  2. 2009/12/17 7:17 am

    I just linked back to this post on my blog…several people have tried to find this stamp and couldn’t because it’s discontinued. And thank you for the shout out!

  3. 2009/12/17 8:41 am

    Oh this is fab! Such a clever idea! Thanks for sharing šŸ™‚
    Loved the one stroke angels too!

    Hugs
    Maarit

  4. Christine Margrie permalink
    2009/12/17 9:13 am

    Followed the link from Susans’ blog ….
    This is fantastic I was going to try to make a stencil and you have shown me how …. thank you so much for sharing this.
    Don’t you just love Susans’ blog, she is just so creative and so are you!!!!
    Happy Christmas

  5. 2009/12/17 10:03 am

    Oh, you are just too clever! Great idea, and a great case of a great card:)

  6. sue permalink
    2009/12/17 1:51 pm

    Awesome! I had no IDEA you could really make your own! How creative, and smart for you to do this, and how generous of you to show US how to do it. I’m sooo impressed! I came from Susan’s blog, but now I’ll be coming regularly to yours, too. Thanks so much for sharing. I’m going to try this……..as soon as I catch a breath from the holidays.

  7. 2009/12/17 2:29 pm

    Spectacular! I loved Susan’s card, and yours is just as awesome!

  8. Harriet Skelly permalink
    2009/12/17 2:45 pm

    Awesome and creative – way to go! Thanks for the instructions!

  9. 2009/12/17 8:17 pm

    Brilliant!! Thanks for the inspiration!!

  10. 2009/12/18 9:43 pm

    WOW!! Smart noggin on you!!

Trackbacks

  1. 2009-12-18 Faux shadow stamp, flipped « The Craftiblog

Leave a Reply

