Skip to content

2009-02-28 Spring Window with floating flower tutorial

2009/02/28

Spring Window with floating flower tutorial

Stamps used:
Script; Fruit of the Spirit by Art Impressions
Spackle; by Stampin’ Up
Scripture: by Stampin’ Up

Tools & Accessories:
Sizzix flower die
white felt
metallic thread
terrifically tacky tape
square punch (1 1/4″)
scallop punch (giga)
fabric glue
stipple brush
black ribbon

Ink & card stock:
Inks: black; slate gray
card stock: barely banana; black
text weight white paper

To start, I took an 8 1/2 x 11″ barely banana sheet of card stock and cut it the long way. Then folded it in half and punched a window in it. I just eyeballed it as good as I could. I’m not especially good at measuring….
2009-02-28 spring window (2)

I stamped the scripty words in black ink on text weight paper. I also added some splatter and stippled the edges of the white text weight paper. I lined up the scripty part of the text so it would be about centered. It was just barely tall enough to fill in all the space. After gluing it down, I trimmed it up.
2009-02-28 spring window (3)

Now to make a frame for my window. Take the 1 1/4″ punch and punch out a square from the black card stock. Make sure you shift the punch all the way in, you’ll need space for the scallop in the next step.
2009-02-28 spring window (10)

Take the black punched card stock out of the 1st punch and now insert it into the scallop punch. Center it as best you can, and punch. This makes a perfect little “window frame.” While you are at it, punch a second frame…you’ll want one for the inside of the card too.
2009-02-28 spring window

Just glue the frame to the front of the card…so much more finished looking now, right? I also added the scripture verse and centered it under the window.
2009-02-28 spring window (4)

Here’s how I did the floating flower. I took some white felt and scrap card stock and die cut some Sizzix flowers. Here I’m gluing metallic thread on a paper base. Next, just sandwich (front & back) the die cut felt flower and a flower center. The thread is in the middle, neatly hidden.
2009-02-28 spring window (5)

Open the card and work on the inside now. Here I’ve taken my finished “sandwiched” flower and using double sided sticky tape have placed it in the center of the window.
2009-02-28 spring window (6)

Trim off the excess thread and glue the extra window frame we made to the inside of the card. Now it looks finished, inside & out!
2009-02-28 spring window (7)

Just add a black ribbon where the scripty words end and the finished card will look like this! I stuck the Sizzix flower die in the photo so you could see which one I used.
2009-02-28 spring window (8)

And a close up of the fuzzy flower in the window:
2009-02-28 spring window (9)

If you make a window card with a floating “something” link back to this post so I can find it!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 2009/03/01 8:16 pm

    I love this card Bonnie. Thanks for the mini-tut too. I might have to try this (and I’ll probably screw up the link, so I’ll email you when I finish it).

  2. sandie carter permalink
    2009/03/02 6:31 am

    Love your card.

    Thanks for sharing this great tutorial.

  3. karen permalink
    2009/03/02 8:39 am

    Thanks again for sharing! your directions are GREAT too! I like the card, and my just have to try it myself. I’ll let you know if I do!

  4. Sonya permalink
    2009/03/02 9:28 am

    very nice! Thanks for showing it step by step!

  5. 2009/03/02 10:50 am

    Beautiful amazing card!

  6. Christine permalink
    2009/03/02 3:12 pm

    Cute card.. the flower reminds me of a sunny side up egg because of the shiny middle.. lol.. cute!

Trackbacks

  1. Background fail; & resurrection | The Craftiblog

Leave a Reply

