Skip to content

squared shoulder bag

2005/10/19
by

Here is what I ended up with. I had wanted to make a top flap and add some small pockets, but I guess I would have had to think ahead and re-inforce the front and back to do that. Still, I like it and will start rotating it with my other crocheted purse. Well…I guess it fits better into my growing line of simple patterns…hehe.

I also figured out how to fix the image so it doesn’t look absolutely horrible but you can still see the stitches of the black purse…yay.

DSCF1076

Pattern:
You’ll need about 6 ounces of worsted weight yarn (I used Caron Simply Soft) and a G Hook.

Faces (make 2)
Chain 31
1: sc in the 2nd chain from hook, (sc in next chain) 29 times, chain 1 and turn (30 sc)
2: (sc in next sc) 30 times, chain 1 and turn (30 sc)
3-24: repeat row 2
25: (sc in next sc) 30 times, finish off and weave in ends (30 sc)

Closure:
1: One one of the Faces, slip stitch in 12th sc of top row, chain 1, (sc in next sc) 5 times, chain 1 and turn (5 sc)
2: (sc in next sc) 5 times, sc in chain, chain 1 and turn (6 sc)
3: (sc in next sc) 6 times (6 sc)
4-8: repeat row 3
9: (sc in next sc) 2 times, chain 3, skip next 2 sc, (sc in next sc) 2 times, chain 1 and turn (4 sc)
10: (sc in next sc) 2 times, 3 sc in chain space, (sc in next sc) 2 times, finish off and weave in ends (7 sc)

Sides (make 2)
Chain 10
1: sc in the 2nd chain from hook, (sc in next chain) 8 times, chain 1 and turn (9 sc)
2: (sc in next sc) 9 times, chain 1 and turn (9 sc)
3-24: repeat row 2
25: (sc in next sc) 9 times, finish off and weave in ends (9 sc)
finish off and weave in ends

Bottom:
Chain 31
1: sc in 2nd chain from hook, (sc in next chain) 29 times, chain 1 and turn (30 sc)
2: (sc in next sc) 30 times, chain one and turn (30 sc)
3-9: repeat row 2
10: (sc in next sc) 30 times, finish off and weave in ends (30 sc)

Shoulder Strap:
Chain 132
1: 2 sc in second chain from hook, (sc in next chain) 128 times, 2 sc in next sc (132 sc)
2: working in remaining loops of original chain, 2 sc in same chain, (sc in next chain) 128 times, 2 sc in next sc, slip stitch to join to first sc (264 sc)
3: slip stitch in each sc around to reinforce strap, finish off and weave in ends (264 sl st)

Assembly:
Using single crochets to create a “piped” seam, join faces to sides to form a rectangle. Attach bottom piece last so that the single crochets form a base.

I also covered a piece of thick cardboard with cardstock to match my bag and placed it in the bag to keep the bottom flat. If you’d like, you can turn the purse inside out at this point. The piping for the bottom will keep the cardboard in place.

Sew shoulder strap to middle of the top of the 2 side pieces. Sew a button to approximately 10th row down in the middle of the front panel.

Terms of Use
This pattern is free for personal use. If you post pictures of your finished item or reproduce this pattern, please credit me (Lynn Szwalkiewicz or vigilant20) as the original designer and link to the CraftiBlog at http://crafts.vigilant20.com.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 2005/10/19 4:19 pm

    beautiful! thanks for sharing all these great patterns!!

  2. 2005/10/20 12:11 am

    Cool purse! I was looking for a pattern like this before. I will have to bookmark your site and come back to it!

  3. 2005/10/20 8:46 am

    Great purse! What are the dimensions?

  4. 2005/10/20 9:16 am

    I should have thought to list that! It’s about 8.5″ x 5.5″ x 2.5″

  5. Vims permalink
    2005/10/29 2:57 am

    Lovely Lynn! thanks for sharing!

    hugs

  6. anna permalink
    2006/01/29 7:12 pm

    HI I THINK THE PATTERN IS GREAT BUT I WOULD LOVE TO SEE PICTURES IN THE NEAR FUTURE!!

  7. kelly permalink
    2006/01/29 7:14 pm

    I luv this pattern i was looking every where for one and now i found it i am so happy!!

  8. Mimi permalink
    2006/06/27 3:38 am

    Hey, I’m gonna start it as a gift for my best friend (male) i think it is also great for guys! hope, everything will work because it is my first bag i do with an english instruction *g*

  9. Mysti permalink
    2006/12/26 7:49 pm

    Wow..this is just the kind of bag I am looking for! I am going to start this tonight. Thanks so much!

  10. 2010/12/06 8:39 am

    This is a great bag…love the black!

Leave a Reply

