Skip to content

chapstick holder pattern (accepted)

2005/10/04
by

I have a new pattern for you πŸ™‚ It’s very simple, but I find it useful. Look for it in the 2007 Crochet Pattern a Day calendar!

DSCF1060

Pattern

Made with G Hook and small amount of worsted weight yarn.

Body:
Chain 4 and join to form a ring
1: sc 9 times in ring, join with slip stitch to first sc (9 sc)
2: chain 1, in front loops only, sc in each sc around, join with slip stitch to first sc (9 sc)
3: chain 1, sc in each sc around, join with slip stitch to first sc (9 sc)
4-9 same as row 2
10: slip stitch in eash sc around, do not finish off (9 ss)

Connector:
chain 1, sc in last slip stitch
chain 7, sc in same slip stitch as above to join
chain 1, sc approximately 12 times in loop created
finish off

Terms of Use
This pattern is free for personal use. If you post pictures of your finished item or reproduce this pattern, please credit me (Lynn Szwalkiewicz or vigilant20) as the original designer and link to the CraftiBlog at http://crafts.vigilant20.com.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. 2005/10/04 12:03 pm

    Tee hee.. I got one very similar to that one on the mail today from a secret fairy x)
    The envelope got wet in the travel.. so I can’t see who sent it.. but the stamp says itΒ΄s from “Pilipine” so …….

    Am I Sherlock Holmes or what?! πŸ™‚
    THANKS!!!!

  2. Ashley permalink
    2005/10/04 12:12 pm

    When you X-post, but it behind a LJ cut. I can see three of your little patterns on my friends page and it’s annoying.

  3. 2005/10/04 12:20 pm

    Sorry, but I don’t post from LJ and can’t use cuts. I’m sure you’ll survive 3 images.

  4. 2005/10/04 12:10 pm

    Sorry, but I haven’t gotten a chance to join in any swaps…wasn’t me 😦

  5. 2005/10/04 12:34 pm

    I knew it was your lip gloss holder LOL!! Waaayyy too cute…I neeeeeeddddd one too. In the shape of a Carmex tube LOL!

  6. 2005/10/04 12:38 pm

    I could give it a try, but something tells me with something so oddly shaped I’d need to add a flap with some sort of fastening device.

    ie a tiny snap or bit of velcro if you have some πŸ˜›

  7. Ashley permalink
    2005/10/04 1:21 pm

    And I’m sure you’ll be a dumb bitch.

  8. 2005/10/04 2:10 pm

    Awwww I’m sorry I don’t take the status of your friends list seriously…lol.

  9. Sarah permalink
    2005/10/04 2:44 pm

    I’m so glad I’m not the only one who is obsessed enough with chapstick to have it on their keys! I have a store-bought holder on my car keys, but I have more than one set of keys, so this is perfect. πŸ™‚

  10. Jessica permalink
    2005/10/04 5:53 pm

    I LOVE IT! From one chapstick addict to what looks like another, thank you!!

  11. 2005/10/04 7:54 pm

    I love this! If I didn’t just CRAM my keys in my bag, I’d totally make myself one.

  12. Sandy permalink
    2005/10/11 9:34 pm

    I love the pattern for the chapstick holder. My three year old daughter loves lipstick/chapstick, so she will think it will be the neatest thing if she has something to put it in. She loves to try to act so mature (when it comes to make-up. I will probably make her several of them.

  13. 2006/02/08 12:15 pm

    Yes! Something to make this weekend!

  14. 2006/04/21 10:27 am

    Awesome! I’ve linked to your post at Chaptastic.com, a site for all chapstick lovers.

  15. Pam permalink
    2006/05/18 1:46 am

    i just thought i’d let you know i love this pattern and made about 8 of these for family and friends already! its so easy and fun and HANDY and i love them! so thanks!

  16. 2006/10/19 5:35 pm

    I just found your pattern and want all of you to know that lots and lots of soldiers would love to have some of these made in cotton and filled with a chapstick and put on a keyring. If you would like an address to send them to, I will gladly supply it. I plan to make several of these to go in packages being mailed to our soldiers. Thanks, Meemaw

  17. Tegan permalink
    2007/05/02 1:52 pm

    so cute…My mother-in-law is teaching me to crochet! all i seem to get is the chain…i cant seem to figure out how to double stitch!!!he he he :o) im going to give this one a shot!

  18. 2008/01/07 1:38 am

    very interesting.
    i’m adding in RSS Reader

  19. 2008/04/10 10:07 pm

    Did you once write a different chapstick holder pattern? I have had one saved on my computer for years that I love but the file got corrupted so I’m searching for it. It would have been posted to a livejournal crochet community at least 2 years ago…I think… I thought I recognized your last name but the pattern looked a little different, I think. Now that I think about it, I think the sample was blue too….maybe it just looks different when I make it?

  20. 2010/01/11 7:32 pm

    I just made two of these and I’m sharing the pattern on my blog. Linking it to you, of course! Thanks! Oh and I’m the one who contacted you on Ravelry πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. mundane matters in the life of lynn » Blog Archive » Accepted :)
  2. CraftiBlog » One Skein Project List
  3. Crafty Pants » Free Pattern : Chapstick Holder
  4. mundane matters in the life of lynn
  5. Ten Little Indians all in a Row « Tell me a Yarn

Leave a Reply

