Skip to content

2013-05-19 Porcelain Clay Vase – Blooming where I’m planted

2013/05/19

I was scrounging through a drawer in my craft room and came across a tripod chopstick easel and a baggie of porcelain clay vases. I went looking to see how long this has been hiding in a drawer and found that I made the chopstick easel in 2007. I know that because I date my photos. So I pulled it out and set it up for today’s card sample. The porcelain clay pieces were made in July of 2012.

Here is the sample putting both of my finds to use
2013-05-19 (2)

The flower bits are from a purchased flower bunch and punched pine branches by Martha Stewart. The embossed backgrounds you see are by Stampin Up and Sizzix.
2013-05-19 (3)

A closer look at the vase shows that it has been sponged with some distress ink and then stamped (flourish by Inkadinkadoo) in pigment gold ink after the clay had dried. To add flowers was super simple, just tuck them in and glue down. I also snipped a piece of lace and tucked it into my vase. You also see some die cut leaves that I pre-made and put into a baggie for instant use. Note to self: I am running low on those and will have to make some more. You will also see some additional pine branch punches and lastly a die cut leaf branch (Leafy branch by Sizzix) my friend Maggi gave me from a shoebox project. In the background you can see some miniature dragonfly’s. These are by Hero arts and were purchased at an annual rummage sale that I love going to. This was purchased in September 2012.
2013-05-19 (4)

The banner was hand made using a corner punch to make each of the ends. The verse is by Imaginations.
2013-05-19 (5)

**************************************************

need to see other porcelain clay samples? Wish granted!

Here are links to all 5 days for the week of clay:

Day 1: Mini Vase

Day 2: Mini Daisy

Day 3: Large daisy w/doodles

Day 4: Large vase w/silk flowers

Calla Lilly clay flowers

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 2013/05/19 6:33 pm

    Great card, Bonnie! I love the little vase. The tiny flowers and branches you put in it really fit so nicely. One of the problems I see so often with die cuts and other “card parts” is that it’s so difficult to mix and match them because they often aren’t in sizes that work together. Even if I think I have the tiniest flower die I can find, it’s often too large to work with something like a watering can die or window box die. It can be very frustrating when one is picky like I am about how things fit together. You had just the right purchased flower bunch to pull flowers from for this one. I can never seem to find those “just right” artificial flowers to work on my cards. LOL! I’ve given up scouring the floral sections of Michaels and Hobby Lobby! LOL!!

    • 2013/05/19 6:40 pm

      Oh my gosh! You are so right about the size of flowers. I thought about adding stamped flowers but just couldn’t find the right size. That’s how I ended up yanking some buds from a purchased stem.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 234 other followers

