Skip to content

2013-04-18 March’s Stamp Camp Creations – day 4

2013/04/18

At the March Stamp Camp I worked with stencils and ultra thick embossing powder. I brought these pieces home as I was tired that night. I also knew I wanted to add something to it, but didn’t know exactly what. My demo, Sally allowed me to take home some mini sheets of DSP and a snippet of ribbon so I could finish it off.

As I cleaned the top layer of “stuff” off my work desk I found this still paper clipped together. I set it down in the middle of my space and went to work.

2013-03-21 (3)

I pulled out my Cricut cartridge Pagoda and cut out some additional bamboo stalks at 4″. With a few pieces of the DSP, ribbon and a punch or two I was able to finish it off. The only stamped images on the whole card are the tiny dragonflys by Hero Arts from the Nature Icons mini set I bought at a rummage sale last September.
2013-04-18 (1)

Rather than try to paper piece the bamboo I decided to take the quicker route and just color the stalks. This was cut out of Parchment colored card stock and I can tell that my blade is already getting dull. I would like to know how often full fledged users of the Cricut change their blades.

2013-04-18 (3)

The bamboo inside the large vase as well as the bird were stenciled. I had a tough time getting the color through the stencil with the sponge dauber. When I peeled off the stencil it still looked spotty. In order to fix that I just started dotting color in with various colored markers. It covered my poor sponging job pronto. It also added interest to the bird.
2013-04-18 (4)

To create the corner I used a Stampin Up punch, layered it and added a foil sticker.
2013-04-18 (5)

One more thing off my craft desk…I feel such accomplishment right now :-)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 2013/04/18 6:17 am

    I like it! I love the glazed look on the vase and how it makes it pop. I also like the ribbon with the folds, something different. Did you create that or did the ribbon come that way. Makes one look at ribbons in a whole new light. Great job!!

  2. 2013/04/19 10:38 am

    Beautiful!!! I love how the vase turned out. The little dragonflies are really cute! ~Sophia

  3. Maggi G permalink
    2013/04/20 2:14 pm

    Beautiful! Mine turned out nice as well, just not with the bamboo, etc. I do enjoy our monthly get-togethers with Sally.

  4. Charlene M. permalink
    2013/04/21 7:02 pm

    Hi Bonnie, Lovely card. As a cricut user, I wanted to respond to your question about how often to change the blade. It really depends on what you are cutting and how often. My blades generally tend to last several months if I’m just cutting a single cut here and there, but if I’m doing some heavy cutting (like for bulletin boards at church, etc…) I may need to change it shortly afterward. If you cut thicker card stock, you may have to change it more often.
    I hope this helps!

  5. chrissy bornfleth permalink
    2013/04/24 6:09 pm

    OOOOH … I love what you did with the stamp camp pieces!!!
    chrissy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 238 other followers

