Skip to content

2013-03-19 Cricut Wild Card background & die cut additions

2013/03/19

I was exercising on a stationary bike last evening, as is my habit. I usually watch a movie, but this time I put on YouTube videos. I looked under Cricut and then for a cartridge that I have. I found lots of samples of Wild Card. I have a stamping friend that just got a Cricut and want to send her a Cricut cut card.

I started out with the background and the circle medallion. That was OK, but really plain. I started tucking in leaves and flourish parts and the card design perked right up. This is what I came up with.

2013-03-19 (1)

I didn’t solely use the Cricut to make this card. I also incorporated a number of die cuts. Here you can see the word hi which was die cut (Cuttlebug die), a flourish and leaves dies (both by Sizzix) and finally circle dies (Nestabilities/Spellbinders)
2013-03-19 (2)

I took another angle so you could see more of the additions and layers. The mat was cut from the Wild Card cartridge, page 33 at 5″. Of the die cut layers, one layer is in olive and the other in black. I backed these two layers with a bright and vibrant glittered DSP. Actually, now that I think about it, I probably would have never used this as it just too bright and busy for my taste. This turns out to be the perfect project to tone that down. The flourish was cut out of a scrap of holographic card stock. The hi looked a little dull after tucking the flourish in so jelly roll glitter pen was drawn on. A quick and easy fix. The last item that was tucked in as a piece of tulle. It’s the tiniest scrap that was laying on my dest. All I did was pinch one end and tuck it under everything into a small puddle of glue
2013-03-19 (3)

So there you have it, a gussied up Cricut background with some die cut additions.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristi permalink
    2013/03/20 6:33 am

    Looks awesome! Makes me wonder what’s on my carts lol.

  2. SharonS permalink
    2013/03/20 8:26 am

    That is fabulous! I have that cart but have never used that cut!

  3. chrissy bornfleth permalink
    2013/03/23 11:26 am

    Love the layers… Chrissy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 228 other followers

