Skip to content

2013-03-13 I didn’t think I had a shamrock; surprise!

2013/03/13

I seriously thought I didn’t have a shamrock. It wasn’t until a flimsy box of stamps purchased at the last rummage sale (September 2012) fell to the floor and scattered everywhere that I noticed. I think it was because the shamrock was underneath the label, hiding from me.

2012-09-15  Rummage sale 2012 (6)

Here is a close up of the box. In the picture above I can’t see a price tag, but I wouldn’t have paid over $3-4 for it, so a good deal. But only if you use them, right?
2013-03-14 (4)

And here is the clean and simple (CAS) card using the one shamrock that I found.
2013-03-14 (3)

I made two without embossing and two with. Guess which one I like better?
2013-03-14 (1)

This close up of my final version of the CAS card shows the detail. I embossed the Swiss Dots then added score lines with my Scor-Pal. Next I cut out two flag banners out of assorted scrapbook papers and then added a 3 layer medallion over the top with the top layer being the one and only shamrock. I rounded the bottom two corners and as the last step I added some crackle glaze over the shamrock.
2013-03-14 (2)

Now it’s off to the mailbox to get these out to a couple of stamp friends before St. Patrick’s Day!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Maggi G permalink
    2013/03/13 3:37 pm

    Great cards!!!!! Yesterday I made a discovery on how to make a quick shamrock – I die cut a five petal flower and snipped off one petal!!!! It would probably work with a four petal (minus one) but the five looks really cute!

  2. Janis permalink
    2013/03/14 7:52 pm

    cards are very pretty.
    Jan

  3. 2013/03/15 10:34 am

    Fab cards – I’m thinking your favorites are the swiss dotted versions :) I haven’t tried Maggi’s tip for making DIY shamrocks but I have made my own using hearts.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 233 other followers

