Skip to content

2013-03-06 Fancy monogram card

2013/03/06

I started out trying to cut out a free web designed scalable vector graphic (SVG) with my Cricut. It’s been cutting things just fine, but today it decided to poop out and told me that my software/firmware was out of date. Some people maybe able to fix it, but I’m not one of them. In order to see if my Cricut would still cut from a cartridge (Tie the Knot) I cut out some monograms. That worked fine so I decided to make lemonade out of lemons. Be happy with what I have and move along.

Here is the monogram card I made using ready made flowers from my glass jar, Scrapbook papers, an old office folder (card base and some layers) and die cuts (Memory Box & Nestabilities)

2013-03-06 (2)

I pulled this flower out of the glass jar I keep on my table. I can usually find a flower that will work (color-wise) on my projects and make a card quickly. The little cream flowers are plastic and were purchased on a stem with lots of them, made to look like babies breath.
2013-03-06 (4)

The monogram was cut from the Cricut Cartridge, Tie the Knot. I’ve cut this before and I love the swirls.
2013-03-06 (1)

This card was quite quick to make, I put it all together from start to finish before I left for work this morning. Not only did I put it together, but I photographed it and wrote a blog post. How’s that for quick?

I also added this to my entry for Flutter by Wednesday challenge. My 2nd Ever!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Elaine permalink
    2013/03/06 9:11 am

    This turned out very pretty. You did a very good job and in not much time either. Way to go!

  2. 2013/03/06 4:33 pm

    Back when I used to get up and go to work I always got up two hours or more before I had to leave and I still always felt like I just made it out the door in time! LOL!! So, I’m very impressed that you could make this whole card before you left for work. I might manage getting the already made flower out of the jar, but every thing else would have to wait until I got home! :) That monogram letter is so pretty!

    Oh and since we just “talked” about the Cricut programs I’m so sorry to hear that they go out of date! What a drag!

  3. 2013/03/07 7:03 am

    love the card, it turned out great!

  4. Vesta permalink
    2013/03/08 7:09 am

    Wow, you are fast! The turned out great. It would have taken me a lot longer.

  5. 2013/03/08 4:42 pm

    What a gorgeous card! I love the colors, swirls, bow and flowers!

  6. 2013/03/09 10:56 am

    such a pretty card. thanks for fluttering with us.

  7. 2013/03/15 10:47 am

    Lovely card and oh so elegant with the swirls and flowers. I bet your free SVG file was created after the SCAL/Cricut settlement date so the SVG file has an embedded filter/cookie that verifies your Cricut software is also updated with a date subsequent to the SCAL/Cricut settlement. Bummer.

  8. chrissy bornfleth permalink
    2013/03/23 11:31 am

    This card is stunning.
    Chrissy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 236 other followers

