Skip to content

2013-03-05 CAS card with matching envelope

2013/03/05

CAS? You might not of heard of that before. It means Clean and Simple. Exactly what today’s card is.

Over the weekend I made some homemade A2 envelopes. They are just plain white copy paper. On it’s own, it’s not really thick enough to protect what you are mailing. Flimsy is the word that would describe it. So, I like to line my envelopes using old forgotten DSP (Decorative Scrapbook papers). At least I’m using it, right?

I can get 2 liners from one 12×12″ piece of DSP, leaving me with a 4″x12″ leftover. I took the leftover and used it to create a CAS card, which is now a matched set. Cool, huh?

Here you can see the envelope off to the right with the liner and the finished card is off to the left. White on white, made it a little hard to see the envelope unless I told you it was sitting there. Before putting the card together I added some Swiss Dots embossing to the upper 2/3’s of the card front.
2013-03-05 (3)

I used these octagonal words to described a butterfly…interesting in their shape but a seldom used or remembered acrylic set by Autumn Leaves.
2013-03-05 (4)

Two of the punches you see represented in this photo are by Martha Stewart. That would be the border and the 2 layered butterfly. The other two shapes are the standard circle (Nestabilities by Spellbinders) and the scallop circle punch by Stampin’ Up. In addition you maybe able to see some of the light glimmer added by a spray of PearlEx. In real life, this addition makes my cheap white cardstock look like an expensive pearly finished stock.
2013-03-05 (1)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 2013/03/05 9:33 am

    It may be CAS but it is a lovely card! I always love butterflies!

  2. Lin M. permalink
    2013/03/05 1:59 pm

    This is such a pretty card! Thanks for explaining the acronyms (CAS, DSP) for those of us who wouldn’t know what they mean. :) I really like how you coordinated your envelope liner to match your card. I have made envelopes but have not lined any – you have inspired me to try.

  3. 2013/03/15 10:50 am

    Gorgeous CAS and I love how you matched card to envie (and those wee sentiment images are wonderful). I’ve made some envies with single sided DSP – sometimes I choose the white side as the outside, sometimes the inside.

  4. 2013/04/13 5:40 pm

    Never have lined an envelope but when i saw this has inspired me to have a go
    Love the Butterfles

Trackbacks

  1. 2013-04-11 April’s Shoebox project by Bonnie | The Craftiblog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 229 other followers

