Skip to content

2013-02-07 Happy Heart Day

2013/02/07

I am in the process of getting ready to mail out a few Valentine’s Day cards. Today I will share with you a clean and simple version using a $1 stamp from Michael’s Craft Store. I should also add that it took a LOT more supplies than the $1 stamp to create this design. Add on the cost of 2 Spellbinder’s dies and 2 Sizzlet’s die sets along with an embossing folder, Baker’s Twine and crystal gems. But I digress… The original stamp said “Happy heart day” the heart being an actual shape of a heart. I chose to only use the happy and day part of the stamp and switch out the heart.

I die cut a Nestabilities label, embossed, stenciled and then stamped. You can also see that the background has been embossed with a Cuttlebug Heart embossing folder. Perfect for a Valentine’s Day card.

2013-02-07 (2)

This is the smallest Spellbinder heart from the set Nested Hearts that has been die cut, embossed, stenciled and then some jelly roll pen and a crystal gem for good measure.
2013-02-07 (3)

These little faux buttons are from a Sizzlet set aptly called Button Set. I took a piece of Baker’s Twine and just added it to the top button. In addition to the Button Set I also used a die cut tag from the Sizzlets Small Tag set. I really like this old standby as it is a nested set where I can cut one larger tag and then a smaller tag for layering. Each of the tag holes is properly positioned so they can be mounted to match.
2013-02-07 (1)

Thanks for stopping by and I hope that you have some time to get some Valentine’s Days cards ready too.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 2013/02/07 11:08 am

    Aren’t the dollar bins at Michaels the best?! Great card – I like how you made the paper heart into a faux button. Very sweet

  2. 2013/02/07 3:15 pm

    Great card! As usual, I’m running behind and have been hoping to get some Valentine’s Day cards in the mail in time but I think I’m too late already as slow as the USPS has gotten lately.

  3. Lin M. permalink
    2013/02/07 7:35 pm

    What a pretty Valentine’s Day card! I like the different elements you added – very nice!

  4. Maggi G permalink
    2013/02/07 10:00 pm

    I like the clean look of this card – it looks simple, but there are a lot of steps –go figure!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 235 other followers

