Skip to content

2013-02-04 Accordian fold for Heart Day

2013/02/04

Today’s card was inspired by my stamping friend Collette. She sent me a Christmas card with this same fold. Her design was made for a 12″ piece of card stock and I only had 11″. So I played around with a piece of scrap paper until I got the folds the way I’d like and here is what I ended up with…
2013-02-04 (2)

I pulled some pre-printed scrapbook paper from a pad and inked it up with tattered rose distress ink. Next I measured and cut the panels for each portion of the card. After the pieces were cut I inked the edges with fire brick red distress ink.

I stamped 3 of the panels with Valentine words from the acrylic set “Forever” by Stampology.
The banner is made by stamping a $1 stamp by Studio G onto pick parchment and then snipping the ends
2013-02-04 (6)

The two pink die cut hears are by Sizzix. I inked the edges then ran them through a Swiss Dots embossing folder. When the card was all but done, I added glitter glue to each of the raised swiss dots.
2013-02-04 (7)

The dark red heart was die cut using the Nested Hearts by Spellbinders. This piece has also been embossed and then stenciled. I popped the piece up by cutting a pop up in the base of the card.

2013-02-04 (5)

The notebook paper page is for writing your note. This was inked with tattered rose and then stamped in the same ink using a large background stamp by Stampin’ Up in the same color. It’s still pale enough to write with an ink pen over the top and still be able to read what was written.

To make the belly band, I cut a 3/4″ piece of matching scrapbook paper and then 1/2″ piece of pink parchment card stock. The pink parchment was run through a Fiskars crimping tool and then glued down to the 3/4″ piece. I wrapped it around the closed card and glued the lose ends to the back making sure to leave some give so it could be easily slid off. The rose is made from pale pink ribbon. It took me 2-3 tries to get this to turn out; once it did I put a couple of stitches into it to make sure it would stay put and added to the center of the belly band. I then tucked a couple of pre-made leaves I had on hand to make it into a little bouquet. Here the card is fully open and the belly band is displayed in front of the card

2013-02-04 (8)

I know you will to know where I scored on the 11″ x 5.5″ base card stock…

1 3/4″, 3 1/2″, 5 7/8″ and 8″

There you go, now go forth! Create a fan fold card and then link back to me so I can see your creation! And have fun.

Oh, and if you have a 12″ piece of card stock and need those measurements; here you go:

2, 4, 7 and 9”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Maggi G permalink
    2013/02/06 11:28 am

    OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!!! Off to use your idea!!!

  2. Maggi G permalink
    2013/02/06 11:29 am

    Could you also post the measurements using then 12X12″ paper?

  3. 2013/02/27 4:28 pm

    Bonnie I am going to try your card, Thanks for measurements. Your cards are beautiful as usual.

Trackbacks

  1. 2013-02-16 ATC going 3-d « The Craftiblog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 238 other followers

