Skip to content

2013-02-02 Simply Embossed Valentine

2013/02/02

I was blessed with a fun package from a stamping friend. In the package was a Sizzix embossing folder that I had never seen before. It looks as if it was chosen just for my taste and style because this folder is so me. The main design is larger than an A2 size, so I trimmed it down and used what would fit.

2013-02-02 (3)

Before I began the matting I flipped the embossed piece over and added some leaf vein lines with a stylus. To add color to the embossing I used both distress inks and chalk. It doesn’t matter if you get a halo of color around the embossing…it actually looks nicer that way. Who knew? Once the piece was colored I used a spray fixative laced with Gold PearlEx to give the whole card a slight glimmer. Lastly, I added tiny dots of glitter glue on the berries and swirl trails. In real life this makes the design come alive.
2013-02-02 (1)

This tiny verse was one of my first unmounted rubber purchases. It is by Victorian Originals and will be well used in the up coming days. To make the heart “halo” I took a die cut (Sizzix original Tipsy Hearts); and using a finger tip dauber sponged Romantic Rose ink blending outwards.
2013-02-02 (2)

And I thought you might like to see the fun items that were in the package from my stamping friend, Margie Rusnak. I’ve known Margie through Yahoo Groups for 10-15 years. I’ve met up with her at local stamp conventions while we compared our purchases. Thank you so much Margie! I will enjoy seeing how I can put the stickers to use.

2013-02-01 from Margie

One Comment leave one →
  1. chrissy bornfleth permalink
    2013/02/04 1:55 pm

    I think adding those veins to the leaves really made a difference. You really know how to add details to enhance the cards.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 233 other followers

