Skip to content

2013-01-23 January’s Shoebox meeting, Upright “Z” Fold

2013/01/23

January’s shoebox meeting was last evening. I thought I would start out by showing you the card project that I made to share with the other ladies.

I have long been a fan of the “Z” fold but never had tried an “upright” style. So my project for the January Shoebox meeting was just that.

In this first photo, I took it on an angle where you could see the Z fold part of the card. With the little circle & brad at the top giving it a nice place to tuck the front of the card, it makes a nice upright display.

2013-01-23 (2)

This next view shows the card closed and ready for mailing.
2013-01-23 (4)

And a front view of the card open. I added Prisma Glitter to the background and some stray particles made their way to the front of the card. I will have to take my duster and go over the front of this before I send it on it’s way to one of my Stamping Pals.
2013-01-23 (1)

Lest you think I didn’t leave room to write a note, here it is. I matted the back of the card and punched the bottom the same as on the front. Then I added some sponging and some pale stamping of the same image as found on the front. I can easily write over the image and you will still be able to see my sloppy penmanship.
2013-01-23 (3)

I really like the style of card and will have to try it with some colors other than the classic black & white.

In case you need to know…
4.25″ x 11″ base card stock, score at 5.5″ and again at 8.25″
Images are by Unity Stamps from the set called Insightful Meadows.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 2013/01/23 1:23 am

    Pretty card! Your black and white fits the kick I’ve been on lately. I just sent a black and white card off to our vet today and my New Year’s cards were also black and white. I usually add a splash of color to my black and white cards, but these have been only black and white. After doing this one today, I’ve been wondering if I’ll ever feel like making colorful cards again.

    • 2013/01/23 7:37 am

      Thanks CC! I was wondering if the Shoebox ladies would like the only black & white color theme. They all said yes…but maybe I should have added a splash of color. Something to think about for the next Black & White theme I do!

  2. 2013/01/23 10:49 am

    Very cool card! I also like black and white cards although i don’t make a lot of them. They layout on this one is really neat and I like the idea of being able to put your message on the back.

  3. Maggi G permalink
    2013/01/23 6:08 pm

    I love the card I made last night – thanks for bringing such a nice project. And I ALWAYS love B/W cards – very classy!

  4. Emilie Boyd permalink
    2013/01/24 5:41 am

    Stunning card!

  5. Mary Wells permalink
    2013/01/24 10:24 am

    I love this card!! What punch did you use?

  6. Jackie W permalink
    2013/01/24 10:30 am

    Blalck and white is my all time favorite as it is classic. Your Z fold card is beautiful. I do enjoy your art!

  7. 2013/01/25 11:34 am

    Such a striking card! I love it!

  8. 2013/01/27 4:47 pm

    Very striking card!
    Love black and white. Great job.
    Hugz
    Moz

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 232 other followers

