Skip to content

2013-01-15 2 layer distressed grape leaves

2013/01/15

There are a number of rummage sale finds that I bought and never got around to using. Last month I worked on a couple of c-cards using Stampin’ Up’s Gorgeous Grapevine. That was one of “those” sets. It was still on top of the pile so I grabbed it and tried a technique I had seen on Michelle Zindorff’s Blog, creating the illusion of layers.

I think I was a tad bit heavy handed with the overstamping of the script but I still like it. The general technique is to take a post it note to over the center section then using the ink pad direct to paper create the color. Stamp your images then mount this piece on a similarly prepared background using the same technique.
2013-01-14 (2)

Michelle’s tip to create the look of depth was to take a gray marker and shade the left and bottom edge of the panel then out line the same two edges in black. It really does add depth! I hope you can see the illusion in the photo.
2013-01-14 (3)

And then I tried to do the same technique with a different color scheme. Can we saw ewwww? I’m not liking this at all. I have always known I am a very mossy green person :-) In this version I used red, rose and concord. I might as well have used canary yellow (my nemesis color); that is how distasteful this version is to me.
2013-01-14 (1)

So, give this technique and try and be sure to share your color scheme with me. Maybe I can make this design work in another color with your help.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Ilene Young permalink
    2013/01/15 8:00 am

    I love it–both color schemes!! I’m a see-it-done type person so if you ever decide to do a video, let me know. I’ve never had much success with the “direct to paper” technique. I am too heavy handed. Your cards are beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

  2. 2013/01/15 10:14 am

    Great idea. Love how they both look. A definite on my Case List. Thanks for sharing the technique.

  3. 2013/01/15 2:09 pm

    Do you have a direct link to Michelle’s tutorial of this technique or the tutorial number? Your link above just went to the most recent post on her blog, I see most of Michelle’s tutorials, but don’t remember this one. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Lin M. permalink
    2013/01/15 7:10 pm

    I think both cards look great! My stamping leaves a lot to be desired – I’m pretty new to it so maybe one day I’ll get there. Thanks for sharing your creativity!

  5. 2013/01/15 8:56 pm

    I also like both of your cards and I like the technique and will try it. I do like the green version the best, but green is my favorite color. Love your blog.
    Terry R.

  6. Maggi G permalink
    2013/01/20 7:09 pm

    Looking at your second attempt – I think you need an additional color to blend the others together – maybe a Distress ink in a brown shade???? I’m looking forward to trying this technique.

  7. chrissy bornfleth permalink
    2013/02/04 1:58 pm

    I do like the moss green better, but I do like the other colors too!!! And I like the script the way it is… not too heavy handed for my liking.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 232 other followers

