Skip to content

2013-01-13 Favorite quote, Decorated Shipping tag #3

2013/01/13

Let me start by saying that I can hear Maggi’s voice in my head right now. She was teasing me last week that I would have a whole years worth of Shipping Tags completed in the next couple of weeks. And as I show this 3rd tag of the year (yes that’s right, I won’t even mail it until March) I can hear her giggling and saying, See?? Well, truth be told I do not have a whole years worth done, yet. But I did play with another shipping tag yesterday.

This swap theme was “Your Favorite Quote” This particular verse is from the set Friends Forever by Fiskars. I know, I know; I went way overboard again but let me just show it and get it over with. Here is the quote & tag:

2013-01-13 (2)

On this tag, instead of inking and creating a background from scratch, I started with some DSP (decorative scrapbook paper). On the right you can see what it originally looks like coming right from the scrap pad. On the left, I’ve sponged/blended and then stamped what I guess you would call “tag covers.” These will be the front of the tag. The stamps are designed by Tim Holtz/Stampers Anonymous.

2013-01-12 (6)

I created mini flowers by punching them (Martha Stewart) and then using a stylus to shape and mold them a bit. Next I added a tiny gem. This part of the bouqet also contains a vellum leaf (Cuttlebug); Babies Breath cut with a Cricut Expression machine from the Serenade cartridge and pine branches (Martha Stewart punch)
2013-01-12 (2)

I punched the butterfly 2 times out of the original background paper and dusted it with Gold PearlEx. I stacked 2 on top of each other then threaded some seed pearls over the top for the butterfly body. At least with them threaded on there, I know they are less likely to become dislodged.
2013-01-12 (3)

In 2009 I was crocheting all kinds of flowers from thread. I have a baggie full of them and took advantage of the ready made embellishment. I just pulled the flower from the baggie, added a pearl brad and attached it to the tag. This flower is a double layer style and if you would like the instructions that my daughter wrote out for me, they can be found HERE. The rest of this section of the bouquet is made up of die cut leaves (Spellbinders), more Cricut cut babies breath and more punched pine branches. The leaves and babies breath are also all premade. For the leaves, they have been precut, sponged, textured and goosebump sprayed. The babies breath was die cut and painted with acrylic paint which was easier than trying to glue tiny white dots onto each little stem. This would all be a huge task to make this tag had I not have extras laying around!
2013-01-12 (4)

In this section of the tag you can see that I glued pearls around the border of the quote. These were all on a string and all they needed was a little coaxing to get them to stay put until the glue dried. Just below that there is a textured piece. This is a piece of brown vellum that I used a Stampin Up embossing folder on. I just tore a tiny bit of it and added for a collage piece. In the lower corner I added a copper style brad.
2013-01-12 (5)

If you are interested in seeing the previous tags I’ve made, here are the links to them:

tag #2 Music


tag #1, snow

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Pendergrass permalink
    2013/01/14 10:45 am

    What a gorgeous tag. Whoever gets this is so lucky.

  2. chrissy bornfleth permalink
    2013/02/04 2:01 pm

    WOW… there are so many details to this tag!!! The first that caught my eye is the string of pearls around the oval layer.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 232 other followers

