Skip to content

2013-01-06 Decorated Shipping Tag–Music!

2013/01/06

I have just recently started working with shipping tags. I had so much fun with the first one that I thought I would work ahead onto the next theme, music. I should have known when I made the first one that I would want a 2nd one to keep for myself. Lesson learned and I won’t make that mistake with the next tag swap.

Here are a few of the supplies I used pictured below. I also used distress stains, plastic mirror material, shrink plastic, music embossing folder, ribbon, punches cord, twine, liquid pearls and old lace.

2013-01-05 (10)

I created a “twig” wreath by using Nestabilities Circle dies and Tim Holtz die. I stair stepped the twigs and worked my way around the circle.
2013-01-05 (3)

Here is one of the completed wreaths. You can see that I used the rubber stamp to add music images to some of the twigs.
2013-01-05 (4)

These are the two finished tags I ended up with. I like the mirror material under the musical note, but you can see the camera reflecting in there :-)
2013-01-05 (23)

This is the close up of the first tag that I made when I started this project. Both tags are quite similar but I did use a few different techniques. I will describe them as I go along.
2013-01-05 (6)

This is of course the close up of the twig wreath. Here you can see that I fussy glued 5 musical notes on top of each other. Then I sponged the edges with antique linen distress ink and added crackle medium to the surface. To make it stand away from the mirror material I added a double layer of 3-d mounting tape. You can also see some of the leaf additions, cricut cut babies breath with liquid pearls and the double bow.

2013-01-05 (12)

This tag has the musical verse spaced somewhat in between the embossed music in the background. I also added some old lace to the bottom of the tag. To keep everything secure I added a backing to the tag and used eyelits to fasten each corner. That lace should never work its way out of that!
2013-01-05 (14)

Once I had made the first tag you’ve just seen I liked it so well that I wanted to make a tag I could keep for myself. This time I remembered to take a photo of the tag prior to embellishing.
With the 2nd tag I used distress stains, distress ink, stenciling, rubber stamping, tissue tape, goosebumps texture spray and gold PearlEx to get the look you see here.
2013-01-05 (9)

And here is the embellished tag
2013-01-05 (5)

It has the same twig wreath but this time I punched tiny white flowers to add to it. This was after-all made from left-overs of the first tag and I needed to fill in the blank spots where you could see the base. The musical note is also fussy glued together however; on this one I used clear embossing powder and then sprinkled some gold glitter into the hot goo.

2013-01-05 (11)

Here you can see the tiny flowers. I punched them out, molded them on a rubber mat with a stylus then added glitter glue to each of the centers. While the glue was still wet, I dropped a seed bead into the center.

2013-01-05 (15)

To change things up on this 2nd tag I used some tissue tape (Tim Holtz); shrink plastic and the verse. I outlined the shrunk tag with 18K gold Krylon pen and then a tiny gold brad to hold it in place.
2013-01-05 (13)

I hope these tags are the right size for the swap, I never really asked if there was a standard size I should be using. I honestly do not know which tag I like better but I suppose the first one made should go to my swap partner.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 2013/01/06 10:31 am

    I keep waiting for someone to tell me what to do with these decorated tags. Other than swap them. What are they for?

    • 2013/01/06 10:38 am

      My husband has looked at my 1st two tags and would like to use them on a gift tag for his Mom. He said that she saves all my stff and these are far mor elaborate than the cards I’ve sent out.

      Personally I am making them for display in my craft space. I just have to decide how best to show them off.

  2. 2013/01/06 1:04 pm

    Those are lovely! The twig wreath is a great idea and sets off the music note nicely. I know for Christmas themed tags people often hang them on a tree etc. for decorating.

  3. Maggi G permalink
    2013/01/07 10:27 am

    A friend of mine has a smallish faux tree in her living room and hangs tags on it for display – great idea! Bonnie – what will you do in a few weeks after you have made all 12 tags?????

  4. chrissy bornfleth permalink
    2013/01/12 10:59 am

    WOW… so creative… and I love that wreath. It has so many possibilities.
    chrissy

  5. Sonia E. permalink
    2013/02/10 1:09 pm

    Pretty nifty!

Trackbacks

  1. 2013-01-13 Favorite quote, Decorated Shipping tag #3 « The Craftiblog
  2. 2013-05-15 Crafty Goodwill finds | The Craftiblog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 228 other followers

