Skip to content

2012-05-08 Mixed Bunch Poppies

2012/05/08

Now that I look at all of the punches and dies that I used to create today’s offering, I guess it takes quite a few to make a floral arrangement.

2012-05-07 001

I took the photo at an angle so you can see the texture clearly. The background is a silver piece of card stock that has been embossed using a Cuttlebug embossing folder. I rubbed the raised image with a blending tool to accent it. Next I added the lace and then the medallion. The verse is by TAC (The Angel Company).
2012-05-07 004

The fun part of the card, arranging the bouquet. I started with the back ground leaves then added the flower buds. To make the green around the flower bud, I snipped off one of the leaves from it’s branch and just wrapped it around the base. There is something that looks like Babies Breath…this was cut with a Cricut from the cartridge Serenade. Rather than trying to cut out tiny pieces to adhere to the piece I painted the tiny tufts using acrylic paint. I tucked the different greenery in and around the flowers. At this point I still have not added the largest bloom.
2012-05-07 008

To assemble the bloom I punched 3 of the Mixed Blossoms and sponged each edge making sure to sponge both sides. I used an extra jumbo size stylus and hand embossed each blossom until it “cupped.” For each layer I embossed harder making a more tightly formed cup. These were stacked and glued in place.

To make the flower center I punched snowflakes out of black. I folded each into quarters then glued in a circle exactly as the CRUMPLED FLOWERS IN THIS TUTORIAL. Once it was glued down to the flower’s center I dabbed here and there with 3-d glittered fabric paint.
2012-05-07 006

Once the largest bloom was constructed I held it over the place where I thought it should go. I added additional leaves and bits here and there and finally set the blossom in place.
2012-05-07 003

It turned out quite bulky, meaning it will need to be packaged well in order for the recipient to get it without being squashed, but it is do-able. I showed this one to my husband; he normally he makes a polite comment. When I showed him this design he acted surprised and said “oh” and then that the colors were really rich. Almost like a gold star coming from him!

22 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennie Portwood permalink
    2012/05/08 5:25 am

    Absolutely beautiful!

  2. lois Skiathitis permalink
    2012/05/08 6:23 am

    Well I’m giving this card an A+. Tell your honey for me that he has good taste and that I agree with him. Your card is stunning. All of the punched flowers was well worth all of the hard work. Love the texture on the card. The arrangements of the flowers is just so lovely and very eye appealing. The colors are very rich looking and yummy. You have to love the die-cuts that are around the sentiment. beautiful work Bonnie. TFS!!! :-D

  3. 2012/05/08 6:24 am

    Another outstanding work of masterpiece art!! Just gorgeous. Bonnie, what is the die that you have sitting on the easel in your picture with the puches and dies?

    • 2012/05/08 6:50 am

      Thank You!
      The die is from the set Fancy Tags 2 by Spellbinders/Nestabilities.

  4. tericout permalink
    2012/05/08 6:38 am

    Wow! I don’t know where you live, but I so want to move near you!!! This is GORGEOUS!!!

  5. 2012/05/08 8:03 am

    This card is simply stunning! BEAUTIFUL and TFS. Nancy

  6. Marg permalink
    2012/05/08 8:30 am

    What a lovely card. Thanks for the info on making it.

  7. 2012/05/08 8:48 am

    Words escape me……..this is outstanding! Love how you used snowflake punches for the center of the Poppy….very creative! (My husband is the same way when I show him a card that I am pleased with. It’s rare that I get words….usually a smile.)

  8. Sue Allie permalink
    2012/05/08 10:46 am

    What a stunning card!! I like how you made use of all those punches. The punches sure cost enough even when I get them 40% off at Michael’s which I try to stay out of that store as much as I can. You could go into business and sell the punched out elements, but, I know, it is a lot of work.

  9. 2012/05/08 11:01 am

    Stunning!! I love a red poppy and you added the perfect backdrop for that gorgeous flower

  10. 2012/05/08 12:20 pm

    Lovely card. You’ve inspired me to try some poppies on my own :-)

  11. carole4lee2 permalink
    2012/05/08 4:40 pm

    LOVE your card. I don’t know if I could be that patient. The card is beautiful.
    Carole Miller

  12. 2012/05/08 8:22 pm

    wow – that is quite lovely!

  13. Karen permalink
    2012/05/08 10:32 pm

    Awesome! really like the poppy effect.

  14. Linda Fuller permalink
    2012/05/09 11:17 am

    That is a truly lovely card, and to my delight, I already have the supplies needed. Yay! Thanks for sharing

  15. 2012/05/09 11:34 am

    Very cute,
    I loved it!

  16. Becky Green permalink
    2012/05/09 12:09 pm

    GORGEOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :) (Found you through Paper Punch Addiction) :)

  17. Lynnor permalink
    2012/05/09 5:15 pm

    these is just no other way to describe this….stunning!!!

  18. Melissa Layman permalink
    2012/05/09 5:19 pm

    Absolutely breathtaking! I just got the blossom punch so I am going to have to give this a shot! Thank you for sharing!

  19. 2012/05/10 9:07 am

    Stunning!

  20. 2012/05/10 8:19 pm

    wow, wow, wow, WOWZA!!!! That poppy…really the whole floral cluster…is AMAZING! And the sentiment is just perfect for all the work and detail you put into this card. Beautiful.

  21. Lenore permalink
    2013/03/08 9:11 pm

    ´╗┐Outstanding post but I was wondering if you could write a little more on this subject?

    I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 230 other followers

