Skip to content

2009-05-14 Felt Flip Album & mini tutorial

2009/05/14

Ever since my buddy KellyRae sent me the TAC (The Angel Company) magazine I’ve been thinking about doing one of the projects I saw in it. I’ve scanned the page with all the instructions, see below.

NOTE: If the print is too small for you to read, you can click on the picture. A new screen will come up and one of the options is “all sizes” click on that and you will get the largest photo available. To return to this page, click on your browser “back button” twice.

2009-05-12 (1)

I did find that one or two of the measurements needed adjustment so that it could be assembled as pictured. The biggest change is at step 2. It tells you to adhear (3) 4 1/4″ x 3″ black pieces of cardstock to the felt. In order to have the 1″ flap sticking out that they talk about you are going to have to cut the pieces so they measure 5 1/4″ x 3″.

The other change that should be made is to trim the 1″ flap when gluing the moon pocket. In order for a 3″ pocket to fit onto a tab that also 3″ I needed to trim the flap first, then add glue and ease the pocket over the flap and shoving it down tight until the glue cured. Thankfully I used a really quick drying glue.

The instructions do not give you measurements for the moon pocket or how to make one, so I’ve included a short step by step on how I did that.

Cut (3) DSP pieces that measure 4″ x 4″ this will be one side of the pocket only. Also cut (3) DSP pieces that measure 4″ x 3″.
Score the larger 4″ x 4″ piece vertically at the 1/2″ mark and also at the 3 1/2″ mark.
2009-05-12 (02)

Using your bone folder crease the two sides towards the center.
Take the 4″ x 3″ piece and glue it to the creased folds.
2009-05-12 (03)

Take an oval or circle punch and insert your pocket into it. The punches are marked so you can see the 1/2 way mark and also the center, punch one end of the pocket centering your punch and keeping it less than the 1/2 way mark.
2009-05-12 (04)

And now the finished folded felt flip album.
2009-05-12 (05)

Here the album is open.
2009-05-12 (06)

and finally all the flaps opened up. Just look at all those spaces to decorate or to add photos too!
2009-05-12 (07)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 2009/05/14 9:36 am

    Wow, Bonnie!!!!! This is gorgeous!!

  2. Carla permalink
    2009/05/14 9:49 am

    This looks very lovely Bonnie.
    Would also be great making from nice scrappapier.
    Just wondering, what does one use for gluing paper to felt?

    • 2009/05/14 9:57 am

      Carla: Thanks for your nice comment! The glue that I used to glue felt and cardstock was a product by the name of Fabri-Tac. I’m sure that any “fabric” glue would work just fine.

  3. 2009/05/14 10:32 am

    Hey Bonnie, you did an awesome job! I love the colors you chose and the black just makes everything pop, doesn’t it.

    I haven’t made one yet so thanks for the extra tips. I’m going to change the instructions in my copy of the Serendipity book.

  4. 2009/05/14 7:33 pm

    I love all of your tutorials. I already make my own cards but you’ve just shown dozens of new possibilities. Thanks!

  5. 2009/05/15 5:59 am

    Wow…gor-juss…I have thought about getting back into my painting to make cards myself…..FAB!!!

  6. 2009/05/21 11:49 am

    I just LOVE this! I am definitely going to make one of these. Thanks for the inspiration. BTW, your work is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 230 other followers

